We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great battered haddock and chips”
Review of The Cafe Royal

The Cafe Royal
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Annan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Occupying the building on the site where Robert Burns wrote the 'diels awa' wi the exciseman', The Cafe Royal Annan was opened in 1967. We provide high quality food, from a Full Scottish Breakfast to Fish and Chips, Baked Potatoes, Salad and Filled Rolls. Open 7 days a week from 7am to 8pm. We have an outdoor eating area as well as a smoking shelter for our smoking customers.
Reviewed 26 May 2015

On a two day break to Dumfries and surrounding area, visited Annan around 18.30. Ordered a large battered haddock and chips for two people, two slices of buttered bread, one buttered roll, pot of tea for one and a large coke, all for under £16.
Meal was cooked to order, perfectly cooked. But, they serve other dishes not normally assosicated with a chipper, sweets too.
From the outside it just looks like any other chipper except for the queues. Tucked away at the back is the restaurant. Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. Well worth a visit and the price is great too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank citytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2015

i started going to the royal when i was at school 40 yrs ago used to play pool up the back always been the best for food staff and owners are fab always go out of their way to serve you with a smile

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr0fessi0nalC0uple, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Hello Heather, thank you very much for your kind review. The Cafe Royal based in the centre of Annan will soon be celebrating it's 50th Anniversary. We look forward to another 40 years with you! regards, John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Well I am actually an Annan local, having grown up in Gretna and travelled before returning at the beginning of the year, but having seen the previous review I felt compelled to write a review. I have been visiting the Cafe Royal regularly for about 10 years now, and it literally is perfect every time. The food is exceptional, whether from the takeaway chip shop or the cafe itself and the prices are great. It is a great atmosphere every time. They even extended their opening times recently so those of us who work til 8/9pm can still grab a brilliant meal on a Saturday night! But I have to say that what really makes this place special is the staff. They are extremely hard working and you always see them bustling around as a team, and on top of that however busy they are they always take time for a smile and a chat. You can see that John and his team really take pride in what they do - quite often I pass the outside of the cafe and if he is outside he will always greet you. I recently commented that the staff are always smiling even when the queue is out the door, and the young man replied with "Well, that's our job!" Having worked in a number of customer service places myself I can say that this a rare attitude. Well, WELL worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adventurekid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr0fessi0nalC0uple, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

That truly is a fantastic review and I genuinely appreciate the time and effort it has taken you. I will pass on your kind words to our staff and we commit to our continued effort. Many thanks again, John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Traditional Scottish food.Top quality ingredients served by hospitable Staff.Very clean place.The Chicken and Mushroom Pie is superb.
The breakfasts are brilliant.The Bacon is wow.
It is not possible to visit Annan without visiting the Cafe Royal.
Plenty of parking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr0fessi0nalC0uple, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Janet Denise, Thank you very much for your top notch review. I will ensure all our staff get to see your kind words. We work very hard, especially on our HomeMade range. We are so glad you loved the Chicken pie, it's one of my favourite dishes too. All the very best, we look forward to seeing you again soon., John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Not what it used to be unfortunately ,poor fish soggy batter and greasy chips,and top price,had fish and chips from a lot of places around Scotland and there's a lot better than this .must be the lowest grade of haddock fillet you can buy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank clam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr0fessi0nalC0uple, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write your review but truthfully, you have no idea what you're talking about.. I doubt you've ever been in our shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cafe Royal also viewed

Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing