We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tea-rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birsay Bay Tearoom

Birsay Bay Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Birsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a modern Tearoom, based in the lovely location of Birsay. We serve light lunches and tasty home bakes, have a good selection of Teas and brew a good cup of coffee. Our menu is based around products grown and made locally.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tea-rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Tasty warming soups, great daily baking, light meals and a full uncluttered coastal view, it doesnt get any better than to find this gem in the far corner of a farway island at such reasonable prices. A comfortable and warm building, lovely staff. So well suited to its environment, not too big, not too small, very well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlastairBorwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    71
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love our local tearooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We love it here. Feel v fortunate to have such a lovely place to lunch, so close to home. We're regulars throughout the year and feel very at home here with our toddler and new baby. The staff are friendly and helpful, the cafe is clean and warm and the food is lovely and v reasonably priced. Great cheese scones, carrot cake and tiffin in particular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Han841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“10/10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Glad we ate at the tearoom -- after a brisk hike around the island we found great food, good value and have to give kudos to the staff !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lanzendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tea rooms on Orkney are as common as hen's teeth. so seeing some fairly amateurish signage posted up on the way to the Brough of Birsay, we thought we'd give it a go, expecting little more than someone's front garden open for home-made teas. In fact, the tearoom is a very modern, professional setup with a menu of soups, burgers, and sandwiches in addition to the coffee & cakes that we indulged in. Tucked away at the very end of a small round at the back end of nowhere, it was still doing a brisk trade. Our lattes were the best we had on the island, our scones tasted fresh, and the rhubarb jam was just the right blend of tartness and sweetness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Super cafe with fantastic views. Very clean and great food.

Staff are attentive and friendly.

Highly recommended and worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank MEllaLouiseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birsay Bay Tearoom also viewed

 
Kirkwall, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Birsay Bay Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing