We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tearoom”
Review of Birsay Bay Tearoom

Birsay Bay Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Birsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a modern Tearoom, based in the lovely location of Birsay. We serve light lunches and tasty home bakes, have a good selection of Teas and brew a good cup of coffee. Our menu is based around products grown and made locally.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great tearoom”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A Nice tearoom with a lovely outlook.
A great variety of snacks and meals served with a smile.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllanWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    76
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The BORDERers
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Tea with a view”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A bit off the Beaton track but well worth a visit, try and get one of the tables next to the windows looking out to the southern tip of Greenland, try the soup, wash it down with a big ice cream milkshake, try the beetroot cup cake surprise, try the Victoria sponge, try the Orkney Ice Cream...then try walking it all off from the door of Birsay Tea rooms with a short stroll to the beach and palace.....but don't go on a Tuesday as it is closed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0rderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice scenery from the cafe”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Delicious fruit scones and coffee with friendly service. We just followed the cars to the cafe not sure of what to expect but we were not disappointed...great place for afternoon tea. Very busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherryl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanunda
1 review
“Great tasting scones”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Thank you for a lovely afternoon tea of freshly made scones with jam and coffee. We had been exploring the north of the island and finding the tearoom was a real bonus to our trip. The tomatoes we bought were very tasty. The service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Look at that view!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A lovely tea rooms with home made food and perhaps the best view if any tea room you have ever been to! It's just up the hill out of the village with an amazing view of the Brough of Birsay.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birsay Bay Tearoom also viewed

 
Stromness, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Birsay Bay Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing