We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochcarron Bistro

Lochcarron Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Lochcarron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$61
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I came here with my friends after closing time, desperate for food after a hike. The proprietor was kind enough to sell us some dishes uncooked, so that we could prepare them for ourselves at home. I came back the next day and had the cheese plate, along with a pot of tea and a couple of glasses of wine, and had a lovely time. This is a great place with a generous proprietor; highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    39
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Had a meal here while staying in Lochcarron and after climbing a few of the Munros near by. Hunger may be the best sauce, but the food was absolutely great. Very busy, and we hadn't booked, but sat at an outside table with a glass of wine until a table was available inside. Goat's cheese & mushroom starter was excellent as was the cullen skink, and the lamb chops were very good too.

Good friendly, warm atmosphere, definitely recommend this rather than the hotel further up the road. Booking seems to be essential, and may not be open every day out of season.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanjhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Came upon this lovely little bistro by chance while returning from Applecross to Glasgow Visited for lunch on Thursday 10th May. The surroundings are very simple and belie the standard of food that awaits! There is a good selection of dishes on the lunch and dinner menus. One of us had the lunch special of Cumberland sausage and mustard mash and the other had an asparagus and goats cheese tart (which I think were being prepared as a starter for the evening menu) with a side salad. Both meals were absolutely delicious. The tart was topped with the best poached egg I have ever tasted. The chef was flexible about the menus as some other customers were able to order dishes they fancied from the evening menu. We followed up the main courses with a creme caramel and a chocolate chilli and lime tart, which were both delicious. There is a selection of wine and the red wine by the glass was good. We finished off with tea and coffee and all for under £40 in total. Service was excellent and genuinely helpful (when we went in I asked if I could charge my mobile phone as had forgotten to do it the night before) and the waitress couldn't have been more helpful. She was very jolly and efficient throughout. The standard of food and value for money was excellent. Will definitely return when anywhere in the vicinity in the future and highly recommend to anybody looking for excellent food and excellent service. Bridget - Glasgow

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bridget55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a really excellent small restaurant. The menu is interesting and the food itself is outstanding - perfectly cooked and well presented - we thought it was quite outstanding. The service is very friendly and efficient and the amosphere very pleasant and relaxed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toni121cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
““As good as ever””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Back in May 2010 I was the first to the review Julienne Scotson’s tiny bistro in Lochcarron, and since that time it collected a great deal of critical acclaim praising its cuisine. Since April 2012 it is now under the new management of Kenny and Milli Telfer, and has a new menu that has already attracted a good number of favourable reviews in Tripadvisor. The general consensus seems to be that it is a good as ever, both for its (limited) lunch time menu and for the dinner menu. The menu changes daily and is displayed on the blackboard.

The new menu for the main dishes is perhaps just a wee bit less adventurous than that of its predecessor, but it is good traditional Scottish fare, cooked to order, attractively presented, with generous portions, and of a consistently high quality (we visited on two occasions recently). The starters were good too, although the bread served with it was disappointing. The service was friendly and attentive.

The Lochcarron Bistro is now serving breakfast, lunch and dinner from 9am to 9pm daily Tuesday to Saturday, as well as offering traditional Sunday lunches from 12 noon to 4pm. It is fully licensed, and the wine list is modestly priced. Tea, coffees and homemade cakes are served all day. It has only a small number of tables, and so it is advisable to book for dinner. When it’s warm – midges permitting during the July and August period! – you can also sit on tables outside and enjoy splendid views across Loch Carron.

The Bistro remains the best place to eat in Lochcarron, whether you are a visitor or a resident.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerofscotland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lochcarron Bistro also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Lochcarron Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing