We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great view and good value. ”
Review of Lochcarron Bistro

Lochcarron Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Lochcarron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$64
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great view and good value. ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Extensive menu. The 3 of us ordered different starters and different main meals and all were presented well and truly delicious. We would be pleased to recommend this bistro to family, friends and anyone else.

Helpful?
Thank SaddleworthClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    43
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eSamwise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff is its biggest draw for me!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The food was hearty and the portions were a good size (we went with Fish and Chips). The fish was cooked excellently and the skins left on the chips was a good touch. It was served in a really interesting way too. The price was quite reasonable. I would eat here again and next time adventure to their more expensive fish dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eSamwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent menu, the food was well cooked and the atmosphere and service was excellent. Try the venison - it was marvellous!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Small bistro on Lochcarron's long Main Street. We were looking for a meal fairly early on this occasion and went for the early evening special (4pm to 6pm) which has a low-cost, simple menu. However, low-cost still means high quality as the food was well-cooked, tasty, good quality and excellent value. The service was very friendly and I would have no hesitation in going here again for a meal. There were only the 2 of us there for most of the time but there was still a nice 'buzzy' atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Lovely little bistro”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little bistro set on the loch side in the quiet little town of Lochcarron. The menu draws on local seafood and meat. While there isn't a wide choice, much of it sounds tempting. My wife & I shared a portion of tasty whitebait to start and then both opted for the delicious Aberdeenshire smoked haddock with Orkney cheese sauce for our mains. Replete, there was no room for dessert. Service was relaxed & friendly and the atmosphere pretty chilled. Very much enjoyed it and would definitely call again when I'm back in the area to bag more Munros.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lochcarron Bistro also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Lochcarron Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing