We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Loch Dubh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Dubh
Ranked #4 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Emma & Andrew were most welcoming and friendly. House is in a great location being near the end of Croft Road in Loch Carron it gets a great view of the Loch. The picture windows allow you to enjoy a great breakfast range whilst watching the sun rise. Our room was spotlessly clean with loads of hot water and a very powerful shower. Oh, I forgot to mention and they also grow their own pork and eggs for the cooked breakfast, a real treat. A fantastic base from which to explore the Applecross peninsula and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: They only have two rooms and our double was warm, spaceous and comfortable with views over the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_and_Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

I've been to the UK a couple of times, and to Scotland once, so take this with a grain of salt - but Andrew and Emma's place as absolutely amazing! It was very modern, complete with updated bathrooms, satellite TV, free wifi, the works. The view was fantastic from their house, and (as I understand it - we didn't utilize the service), fishing is available right in the back yard for those who wish. Breakfast was fantastic too, with a good selection to choose from. As the title says, this is the best place I have personally stayed at within the United Kingdom and I would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank bfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed there for a hill walking weekend and were made very welcome. The view was spectacular overlooking Loch Carron. We went to Lake Como earlier this year and it was on a par! Guests can make use of the contemporary open plan living room and dining area. Emma was very welcoming. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and clean. We walked down to the Rockvilla for dinner, which was really nice. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection. We loved the family atmosphere and the free range chickens made breakfast extra special! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A friend and I stayed for a night while hill-walking in May. Loch Dubh is in a great location, with amazing views of the loch. We had a huge room and the run of the house. We were made very welcome by the whole family. It was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We just stayed there for one night during our road trip in Scotland. This is one of the best B&B we had. Perfect location, amazing view on the Loch Carron, welcoming and helpful host, beautiful living room, charming and confortable room, delicious breakfast. What can I say ? it was just perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neva0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Loch Dubh and really enjoyed it. The house itself is really impressive, perched up the hillside with a view over the loch to the other side of the bay. We were welcomed as soon as we arrived and Emma and Andrew were always on hand - despite being busy helping with the village's highland games / dance.

The room was spacious, with an en suite complete with fantastic shower. Breakfast options were flexible and the food itself was really good. We had a big day on the Saturday so were thankful that we were able to get something early in the morning.

When we go back that way again we both agreed that we would choose to stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattydarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

You will be made very welcome and well looked after by Emma and Andrew. The B&B is a lovely modern home - with superb views over the loch and surrounding mountains from the bedrooms and the very impressive dining area (see photos on website). We have stayed in both downstairs dbl rooms - both very comfortable with modern fittings. Excellent breakfasts - with local produce and the freshest own eggs. And great value. Would definitely recommend here if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Loch Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Dubh

Address: Loch Dubh Croft Road, Lochcarron IV54 8YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Dubh is a newly built spacious croft house set in 8 acres of working croft land. It stands in an elevated south facing position on open hillside above the village of Lochcarron and has stunning views over Loch Carron, looking towards the mountains to the south. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Dubh Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing