We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Sithean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sithean
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had the pleasure of stopping here for 2 nights back in early June. With our 12 year old daughter, there were three of us so we took over both rooms. One had a superb view of the loch, whilst the other had lovely hillside views. The house is superb, I think that's clear now 5* cleanliness and attention to details etc. But it's the warmth and hospitality that made it so special for us. Ken and Lorna were the perfect hosts. Always tea, cake and biscuits to welcome us back from our walks. And they always were happy to talk, whilst striking that perfect balance to give us privacy too. There is no argument; this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The Bistro in the village is a top tip. Lovely seafood pasta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandherhgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. A stunning setting, excellent accommodation and the warmest of welcomes (including tea and cake!). Couple all this with a delicious (and enormous) breakfast, and you have a recipe for perfection.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at this wonderful purpose built B&B for two nights during a weeks tour of the NW Highlands. This gem of a B&B has everything that you could possibly require to make your stay comfortable. The well presented facilities are clean and modern and Ken and Lorna are excellent hosts.
The beds were comfortable, rooms well equipped and the breakfasts exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts were attentive and helpful without being overbearing. We felt really comfortable and welcome. They had even thought of providing wine glasses in the lounge so you could finish that bottle of wine left over from your restaurant meal out on the patio, overlooking beautiful Loch Carron.
Ideally situated with the village and excellent restaurants just a short drive away.
Has to be one of the best B&Bs that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed for 1 night and was warmly welcomed by Ken and Lorna. We had a double room overlooking Loch Carron. It was beautifully presented in every way and spotlessly clean. Under floor heating kept the house and our room at a very comfortable temperature.
Breakfast was superbly cooked and presented by Ken. We could not fault this B&B and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Lochcarron.
Christina and David

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwicks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed for one night and arrived to a warm welcome including tea and cake in the lounge overlooking the loch. The house has been constructed and fitted out to an extremely high standard. We were in the double room over looking Loch Carron and it provided everything we would desire especially lots of comfort. We were on a cycle tour and although Sithern is just over a mile along a flat illuminated village road to the village centre we were offered lifts each way by Ken and Lorna for our evening meal which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in with a warm and friendly welcome from Lorna and Ken. We were extremely impressed by the attention to detail in their establishment which has beautiful views across Lochcarron. The breakfast was delicious and lovely coffee was on tap any time of the day! It is obvious that Lorna and Ken understand what their patron's needs are! We highly recommend this B&B and we'll be back again soon, hopefully!

Room Tip: Ask for the "seaview" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have spent a wonderful night at The Sithean. Ken gave us a marvellous wellcome.
He advised us to take another way to safe time in our trip, that was a great idea taken the ferry, but we couldn´t take it because we have enough time to take it, it was a pity.
If you visit The Sithean do not forget to taste the scrambled egg and salmon in your breakfast.

Thanks from Spain.
David and Nuria

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuriaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
7.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
576 reviews
20.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
183 reviews
22.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
281 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sithean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sithean

Property: The Sithean
Address: West Lochcarron, Lochcarron IV54 8YH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with fully equipped en-suite guest bedrooms, rooms and guest lounge/TV lounge overlooking panoramic mountain and sea views in the heart of the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sithean Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing