We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B”
Review of The Sithean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sithean
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only stayed here one night but wished we'd been able to stay longer as nothing at The Sithean could be faulted. Very welcoming hosts - home made cake and biscuits on arrival and delicious breakfast.
One slight drawback was the location. Over a mile from the village which has limited facilities, most of which are closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBunny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krommenie, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We visited The Sithean in early June on a perfect day (especially for Scottish understanding). Lorna welcomed us with tea and cake and you notice right away that everything is spic and span. Their experience as hoteliers really shows and the rooms were spotless, the breakfast terrific. There's even a guest sitting room!

The location adds to the value too since it is located on beautiful Lochcarron.

A stunning place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerd972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I was completely satisfied with everything during my one night (all too short) stay. The propietor Lorna is friendly, generous and professional. The property is modern, tasteful and spotlessly clean. In addition to your room, which has everything you could want, there is a charming lounge with a picture-postcard view set aside for residents' sole use. The perfect B & B experience - well done indeed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovidola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lybster Caithness
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We recently spent four nights at this 5 star plus B@B.The situation and the accomodation was just superb.Lovely bedroom overlooking the Loch complete with a superb en suite.We were met by Lorna and were soon having tea and cake.The food is beautifly cooked and is served in the dining room with Loch views.
Derek and Dorothy
Caithness

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We are so glad we chose The Sithean for our three-night stay in Lochcarron (6,7,8 May 2013). It had everything we could have wished for: a comfortable, well-equipped room; a lovely guest lounge with stunning views; lots of choice and excellent food for breakfast; and ideal hosts in Ken and Lorna, who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

Many, many thanks.

John and Kath
Preston, Lancashire

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A lovely place to stay. We stayed two nights but wished we had stayed longer. The clean and well appointed en suite room was complimented by fantastic views over the loch. We were greeted with tea and cake on both nights and Lorna was the perfect host. A guests lounge and breakfast room also with views to the loch make this an ideal place to relax. Ten out of ten for the Sithean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecarter473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights recently. We booked it on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The lady who owns it welcomed my wife with afternoon tea and lovely cake. The rooms were spotlessly clean and we had an amazing view over the loch which was beautiful; as did the lovely breakfast room. The quality of the breakfast was very high and I would definitely recommend this place. It is located in the southern suburbs of the town so is a bit of a walk into the main town which didn't bother us being walkers but less sprightly people would probably have to rely on a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
7.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
579 reviews
20.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
186 reviews
22.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
288 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sithean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sithean

Property: The Sithean
Address: West Lochcarron, Lochcarron IV54 8YH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with fully equipped en-suite guest bedrooms, rooms and guest lounge/TV lounge overlooking panoramic mountain and sea views in the heart of the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sithean Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing