We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hosts - Nice Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockvilla Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockvilla Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Hosts - Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a night here about 2 months ago. Lovely experience. We booked King Double Room with outstanding view. The room was very clean and comfortable. Dinner was just great. Very enjoyable. Peter and Wendy were very friendly.

Room Tip: King Double Room has an outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xoi_Ruoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
82
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband had been up here before and he knew I would love it so he booked us their large double with lovely views out over the loch. The room was spotless and nicely appointed , the shower room perfect- necessary to warm up after dicing in the cold loch! A bit of luxury after some cold, beautiful diving.
Wendy and Ben could not have been more helpful or welcoming, a real home from home atmosphere. Even though they were full when we were there Wendy was so helpful to everyone I heard looking for accommodation, and even offered to let some restaurant goer watch the world cup in their lounge!
It is not surprising most of their customers are return visitors. We shall definitely be back, thank you !

Room Tip: The main double has a huge window and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartelbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our journey to Scotland would haven't be the same without our stop in this strategic location to visit both south and north west of Scotland, Skye Island included.

Wendy hospitality is great, rooms large, clean and nice, parking are big and comfortable but the thing you really don't expect in a very good level B&B is the quality of their restaurant, really fresh food, creative, always served in a nice way from this friendly family. More than a B&B is a place you could stay several days, visiting from there the best part of the Highlands and deciding when tired to eat there or also disfruit some nice place close to them.

A very nice experience!

Massimo, Elena&Matteo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

From start to finish we couldn't fault the stay. Upon arrival the hostess was very friendly and that never changed throughout. She offered to help with suitcases and even gave us fresh milk in the room!

The room was a good size with a TV - it really was like staying in a hotel with all the little extras in the room.

Definitely recommending to friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wendy, Peter and son Ben are your hosts and if you ever come across a more welcoming team then let me know, they are absolutely brilliant.
The room was spotlessly clean with extremely comfy beds, could not have expected more.
We had dinner all three nights we stayed and have to say each and every meal was superb. As for breakfast which was not only as good a breakfast you will get anyplace and I mean anyplace but there was more than enough to keep us fuelled for the whole day.
All in all I cannot rate Wendy Peter and Ben highly enough as hosts and Rockvilla as the place to stay. Can without doubt give the highest possible recommendation without fear of contradiction.

Room Tip: We had the room at the rear with en suite, perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful small family-run inn with 4 rooms, all with private bath. Rooms overlook the loch. Great Value! Our cost was 72 pounds for a night.
Friendly owners Wendy and her son Peter personify Scottish hospitality.

Spotlessly clean!

Parking in front of the inn is easy, which is uncommmon at most small B&B.
It is easy to find on the long main road through town overlooking the water.
(Our room, #2, overlooked the water and had the private bath across the hall, which was no problem).
Rooms are on 2nd floor, but the stairs were easy and bag assistance was offered.
Large, thick towels! There was plenty of room for several large bags, which is nice when reorganizing.

The very-good restaurant for dinner and for the included full-Scottish breakfast, all cooked by Wendy!
The salad included fresh greens grown by a neighbor behind the inn. My pasta dish had a mix of fresh caught and locally smoked seafood while my wife enjoyed a delicious typical Cullen skink (soup with smoked haddock & potatoes).
Note: Some road noise but the road isn't very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for private bath with a view. Do consider having a dinner at this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Couldn't rate this B+B highly enough. The owners bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was great, views superb, and food excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
8.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
21.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvilla Guest House

Property: Rockvilla Guest House
Address: Main Street, Lochcarron IV54 8YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, family run Guest House, Self Catering and small icensed Restaurant situated in the heart of the village of Lochcarron. Close to local amenities, our business is the perfect base for all types pf tourists wishing to experience the beauty of the Scottish highlands and indeed to sample what it can offer, whether you are a mountaineer, motorcyclist or just looking to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockvilla Guest House Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing