We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pathend Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I spent six nights in this B&B as the sole occupier of a double room. I thoroughly recommend it. The room was large, clean and had excellent views over the loch. I particularly appreciated the window-facing sofa in the room for reading and watching television. Although I didn't use it, the B&B also has a comfortable living room for guests. The breakfast is one of the best I have experienced in a B&B. I had porridge everyday, followed by a full cooked breakfast and fruit salad - more than enough to fuel me for the cycling I did. A nice touch was cakes/biscuits (often homemade) in the room at the end of each day. The owner, Adrian, was helpful in every way, even getting up early to cook me breakfast on my last day when I had to leave before 8am. If I return to Lochcarron, I will certainly return to this B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Pathend was everything we wanted from a B&B. The owner, Adrian, was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble (he even posted a jacket id left behind in the bedroom to Eatbourne). The house was full of character and was decorated so beautifully. Our bedroom was a lovely size and overlooked the loch - amazing! The cooked breakfast was excellent. I can't praise this B&B enough!

Room Tip: I think both rooms overlooked the loch but the one we stayed in was left at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed at the B & B for one night with two friends on a motorcycle trip around the northern Highlands. This was a real find & I will certainly use it again. Adrian made us so welcome and prepared a good evening meal & breakfast with plenty of choices. The whole house has great character & the decor throughout is good. The bedrooms were large & comfortable with a double & single bed in one room and a large double in the other.
Do not be put off by the external look of the property - it looks like a small terrace property but is much biggar and better than first impressions. We even watched eurosport in the guest lounge after dinner.
The view over the loch was great

Room Tip: The family room has a shower over a sunken bath (en-suite) the double room had a private bathroom/sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I am so glad that the B & B we'd initially looked up was full! The owner directed us to this place and I have to say it was fabulous. We had a big purple room with a bookcase and private bathroom which was spotless. The room overlooks the loch, so you are guaranteed a fabulous view, and there's wooden shutters so you also get a great sleep.

Alongside a great selection of tea/coffee/biscuits there was also a plate of cake which was a great bonus! The veggie breakfast was delicious. I can eat for Scotland but even I could not finish it!

The owners were very friendly and happy to help. We already knew what we wanted to see and do in the area, but they had a wide selection of reference materials and would have been happy to help us plan our trip. Overall we loved it and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: THe purple room was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamourcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pathend B&B in June 2012 for 1 night. We had been due to stay at another B&B in Lochcarron but unfortunately circumstances meant that they had to cancel our booking and move us next door to Pathend. It was an excellent move and we found the quality of Pathend was excellent.

We stayed at many B&Bs on our two week trip through Scotland and Pathend was one of the best. The bed was probably the most comfortable that we stayed in for our whole holiday and we both had an excellent nights sleep. The room had a bath which was sunken into the floor so that was a bit of a novelty and the shower was good. Breakfast in the morning was very good as well.

In the evening, we took a trip over to Applecross and we were lucky to have a completely clear evening to do so - it was stunning so well worth a trip if you have the time!

Overall, an excellent B&B that we would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardon, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This small B&B is situated facing Lochcarron, your bedroom looks out onto the loch. The decor is semi victorian and gives the B&B an excellent atmosphere. The proprietor could not be any friendlier and helpful. We booked an evening meal which was very good and the breakfast was the best I've experienced for a long time. The bed was comfortable and the sunken bath and shower in the en suite did verthing it should. I highly recommend Pathend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robingbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
21.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
142 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
10.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathend Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathend Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pathend Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pathend Pathend Main Street, Lochcarron IV54 8YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pathend Bed And Breakfast Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing