We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pathend Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pathend Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Warmly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A last minute booking and arriving late - but were delighted with the friendly welcome and the location facing directly on to the sea loch + convenient car parking directly opposite. The 100 year old house has been decorated beautifully & in keeping by Helen & Adrian. Our double room had a separate bathroom, for exclusive use, right next door. Interestingly, they have retained closing wooden shutters in the room - good idea when mid summer sunrise is before 5am!
Breakfast is ordered the previous evening and was excellent - in the evening there are two eating places in easy walking distance - just stroll along there enjoying the peace!

Room Tip: Any room facing the loch gives great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explore3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willimantic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I shouldn't tell Helen and Adrian (who run this B&B) but I thought it was too cheap for the comfort and services they provide! They offer the cheapest prices for the area (we were there in June) and as all the reviewers noted the room (we rented the en-suite) is spacious, comfortable and very nice, as well as the bathroom. And it has wooden shutters so you can sleep in near darkness (it matters for me, maybe for some other travelers as well). Adrian left freshly baked goods every day in the room and they were delicious. They bake the bread they serve and have fair trade teas and coffee (and local eggs as well, if I remember well). They are very agreeable and were flexible (I keep strange hours). They also offer dinners or packed lunches on demand and do a laundry load for 5 pounds (we used that service and it was a great help!). Lochcarron really grew on us and is a good location to be based in. From the bed at Pathend, all you can see is the water of the loch moving by. Excellent value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Pathend and were delighted by this delightful character B&B.

Helen & Adrian were excellent, welcoming hosts.

The room we had was large enjoyng a direct view onto Loch Carron, the room even having a cosy sitting area. The en-suite / dressing room was large and convenient. The sunken bath had a lever operated shower from the mixer tap but all ok.

Breakfasts were superb, nothing was too much trouble and it was served in the resident's lounge / dining room. Pathend also offer evening meals / lunches if you so wish. They even offer a laundry service which was extremely convenient to us.

Adrian was real mine of information of the area and beyond, encouraging us to borrow maps and journals to help us have a good time whilst in the area.

Interestingly, we met a lovely couple staying at Pathend who had lived and worked at the massive Kishorn complex during the mid to late 70's which coincided with my first month-long visit to the area. If you are reading this Mike & Viv - thanks for your company.

We really did like this character B&B and can certainly recommend you stay there.

Many thanks Adrian & Helen, we hope to see you again.

Dawn & Alan

Room Tip: We liked the room we had very much but I am certain the other accommodation would be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Pathend B&B for 3 nights and would thoroughly recommend it. Our room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated, as was the whole house. We booked the double room which is not ensuite but the bathroom is next door and for the use of that room only. The family room was ensuite with a double and a single bed and was also tastefully decorated. Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice on offer. The menu was left in our room to complete for the following morning. Everything was freshly cooked and piping hot and Adrian went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. Lochcarron is a lovely place to stay. As well as stunning views across the loch it also has a good choice of restaurants and cafe's, a few local shops, a garage and The Lochcarron Hotel.

Room Tip: Only two rooms both have a good view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We'd been camping for a week and, even though the weather had been kind, we decided to treat ourselves to a B&B on our last night. We decied to stay in Lochcarron and wanted to be on the main street so just happened upon Pathend. What a lucky find. We were in the double room. It was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view out to the Loch. There is a comfy couch facing the window encouraging us to sit and endjoy the view. The room also had lovely coffee bags. Adrian brought us fresh milk too.

The breakfast is large and filling. I had porridge and a cooked breakfast which filled me until dinner in the evening. We stayed only one night but wished we'd had longer. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms; a twin with en suite facilities and a double with private facilities in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We've had a fabulous time at this small B&B. The room felt like a suite, and the facilities were so warm and cosy.
We came in early March on our bikes and they even stored them securely indoors for us. Plus we rode the magnificent Bealach Na Ba route in terrible winds and after only 41miles against the wind the owner kindly came & picked me up from Sheildig as I was pretty exhausted! My athlete boyfriend cycled the rest of the route by himself-what a Trojan!
The owners of the B&B didn't even ask for fuel/time money! They were so generous and the breakfasts were top notch. We'll definitely be coming back but maybe not cycle against such strong winds next time! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but did not want to leave! Gorgeous room with fabulous views, tastefully decorated and really cosy. Plenty of tea and homebaking. Massive breakfast. Owners very kind and hospitable, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_in_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
9.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
21.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
22.4 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathend Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathend Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pathend Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pathend Pathend Main Street, Lochcarron IV54 8YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pathend Bed And Breakfast Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing