We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view from the room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Manse Lochcarron
Ranked #3 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a view from the room”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our trip with the Malts took us to Lochcarron and Applecross and we found this wonderful place to stay, a room overlooking the water, watching the tide come in and out, great welcome, great room and excellent breakfast - I real much if you are travelling up into the far north - and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have to be honest with you, my readers! When we arrived it was around 7 pm and Loch Carron and its little town really looked very creepy to me. I wouldn't have given one penny to the Old Manse! but since Susan opened the door, her smile welcomed us and my heart melted on the floor. The only room she had was a twin room, but it was big, and light blue theme, with a stunning view on the lake: we felt in love with it immediately! When we went for dinner she accomodated the room which became a lovely double room! The only thing, as many others are saying, is that the bathroom needs to be renovated: I had a shower in the morning and the water wasn't coming down as powerful as I expected it to be. Nice cooked breakfast! The price was 75 pounds. Look for this place and go for it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polpetta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay in Lochcarron at the Old Manse. The house and the hosts were great. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. You should definitely stay here if you are in the area. Thank you to Stuart and Susan for the hospitality, great breakfasts, and good advice on the area. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_lewis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our hosts, Susan and Stuart, having managed the Old Manse for only a few months, were wonderfully helpful and anticipated our every need. The rooms aren't large but are well appointed and very comfortable. Spend the extra few pounds for the rooms with views of Loch Carron.

Breakfasts were top notch with a large variety of continental offerings as well as scrumptious full breakfasts, all very healthy (well, maybe not the haggis) and delicious.

We met an elderly couple from South Africa as well as a young chap from England who was bicycling around Scotland and also a Welshman who was working on some nearby salmon hatcheries. This is a small, intimate B&B and we were surprised to find one of the other rooms was occupied by a newlywed couple who live about 10 miles from us back in upstate NY.

We also strongly recommend having the three course dinner they will prepare if you give them prior notice. Great Scottish dishes including the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This converted vicarage looks out over the Loch. A beautiful position and the rooms are pleasant and the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. A great place to stay with splendid views and lots of bird life in the garden. Although I arrived with no booking the owner even prepared an evening meal which after a day’s driving was most welcome. The parking is off road and secure and I was lucky to find this place.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the house with the views over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent B&B with Lovely facilities and Scenery that is just the best you will ever see. The hosts are very helpful and able to help with any thing that you may want. I will certainly use this B&B again. Loch Carron is a small village but everything you might need is there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were staggered by the warmth of the hospitality at The Old Manse. Stuart was an incredible host and made us feel like honorary members of the family. I had made a late booking and the B&B was busy, so we were allocated one of the smaller rooms (without the fabulous views over the loch). Having read some of the other reviews on this site I would agree that there was very limited hanging space in that room, but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. And yes, the TV was on the small size, but why on earth would you want to stay in your room and watch television in such a beautiful location ?? The room was very clean, properly furnished and well maintained. The breakfast was excellent too. I would wholeheartedly and unreservedly recommend this guest house - I look forward to going back there myself in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: If available, go for one of the rooms with the view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Manse Lochcarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Lochcarron

Property: The Old Manse Lochcarron
Address: Lochcarron IV54 8YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Lochcarron Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing