We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steam Inn

The Steam Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Mallaig
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had lunch on a really hot summers day a couple of weeks ago, and what a good decision it was to come here. Service was polite and efficient but the food was brilliant for such an apparently non assuming place. We ate on the patio at the back - burgers are fairly standard fare, but these burgers were among the best I have ever tasted. Portion sizes were generous and prices reasonable. If you're fortunate enough to be in Mallaig, go to this place - you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    194
    49
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We ate in the bar area, which was not as nice as the restaurant, which looked very cosy, but the food was excellent, nevertheless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bearkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Poor service overpriced and overcooked food. Beer garden was nice until we could hear chefs moaning and swearing about having to cook certain meals.. Wont been back

Helpful?
2 Thank Kris2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lunch after hog warts journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having taken the. Journey made famous by the Harry Potter train we had few hours to kill before doing the return journey. We had no prior knowledge but chose the Steam Inn, although not busy at first we took a chance. Hubby had fish and chips, it was fab and good value with a Scottish twist of breaded fish with oats really good, served with real ale a bonus. I had fish chowder which was excellent maybe a bit pricy at just over £8.00 but very filling. The service was excellent and the waitress very good and very helpful. Free wifi available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJM349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we stayed in Mallaig, we decided to give the Steam Inn a shot.
At first i was a bit sceptical because the interior was a bit dated and the seats strange and the waitress quite shy, for no reason obviously.
The food was perfect and really delicious! It told me again another lesson to not judge a book by its cover.

Go and eat there, but maybe sit in the bar and have a bar-meal because that seems to be newer than the eating part.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steam Inn also viewed

 
Mallaig, Lochaber
 

Been to The Steam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing