We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

The Tea Garden Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Mallaig
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
aberfudge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely lunch, had soup and half pint of prawns, you could do with a little more bread with the prawns. Good friendly service be warned cannot make a macchiato! Would recommend for lunch or a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AberfudgeFis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    212
    108
    40
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the fish and chips”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived via the Steam train. Staff were friendly and service was prompt. We sat in the garden and enjoyed the fantastic weather. The food was good although we chose not to explore the menu, opting instead for fish and chips. The fish was great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leaskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tea garden cafe Mallaig”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Go for the kippers- you are in Mallaig after all. Lots of choice, reasonable price, lovely seats outside looking at harbour. But get off Steam Train prompt or it fills up. Takes dogs. Clean toilets

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife & I visited this restaurant with some friends, having just travelled on the steam train from Fort William to Mallaig. The restaurant is conveniently situated just around the corner on leaving the station. We knew what to expect, having visited the previous year, & it certainly lived up to expectations. The service was excellent, if you like kippers, you won't get any better, & the gaelic coffee just hit the spot. My wife had the pint of prawns last year, she still waxes lyrical about them. Our friends were as impressed as we were, & I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely fish, poor prawns”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arriving in Mallaig on the Jacobite train, we had less than 2 hours to eat and explore before we had to go back. The leaflet on the train made the Tea Garden sound very attractive so we went here straight from the platform, and ordered 1/2 pint of prawns to share and fish 'n' chips.

The garden is very pretty and quaint, and the staff was very polite and quick to seat us. It was also lovely to hear music from the fiddler on the street, helping to soak up some Scottish atmosphere.

First came the prawns, which my husband had never tried tail-on, with a side salad, dip and a slice of bread. The prawns were actually shell-on, and at first my husband struggled to even peel one because they were so hard while I realised we would also have to de-vein them. We could have done with a master-class in that, it took ages and was a pretty nasty business trying to find places to wipe it all. Both our napkins got used and there were no finger bowls provided. By the time we'd done they didn't look appetising or clean despite our best efforts, so we ate a few of the cleaner ones which still tasted gritty and left the rest. Waste of money really, if you have no idea what you're doing. But why serve them like that in the first place?

We took so long on the prawns the waitresses forgot we had more to our order, but when it came the battered fish was truly yummy. The fish was light and flaky while the batter was crisp, light and perfectly seasoned. It was a good choice of cafe for the fish which was delicious, but by the time we left we only had 20 mins before we had to get back on the train. I figure we spent roughly an hour just peeling and pulling the dorsal vein out of prawns before we had the battered fish, and that wasn't what I went to Mallaig for. So overall, avoid the shell-ons unless you know what you're doing or you have a lot of time to spend on it (and can handle the mess), while the battered fish is definitely worth seeking out. 5* for the fish, -2* for the prawns.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWS-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shenorm, Owner at The Tea Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on our lovely garden, excellent staff, quick service and good fish and chips. We are sorry you found the prawns difficult, a quick word with one of our waitresses and we would have shown you how to peel them. We are situated in the north west coast, next to the atlantic. This product is called Nephrops or Norwegian lobster, a hard shelled seafood which is caught by our fishermen and sold to connoisseurs of france and spain. Seldom seen on the british market. An incredible product and sold to many delighted visitors.
Our shellfish must not be confused with shrimp, king prawn or tiger prawns all asian farmed, bad for the environment and unhealthy. To devein this already expensive product would make the selling price prohibitive.
A quick word with management would have cleared this up and saved you from writing this book and have given you more time to enjoy your holiday !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Mallaig, Lochaber
 

Been to The Tea Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing