We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Cornerstone

Cornerstone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerstone
Ranked #15 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a great place. Only 2 rooms, both newly decorated with a top end finish. Absolutely spotless with brand new furniture and really comfy beds. The shower was great, once again everything being spotlessly clean. The 2 guys who looked after us were great.
The breakfast is great. You get it in the restaurant downstairs from your room overlooking the harbour. Have the hot salmon and scrambled eggs, Really good! Great service seeing as there are only 2 rooms.
We also had a meal in the cornerstone restaurant below the b and b rooms one evening.
You've got to eat the seafood as you can see the boats that caught your food from the window.

Great place, go ahead and book. You'll enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding and what a little hidden gem it is.. 2 excellently furnished rooms and a large living room area, all to a very high standard. The beds are fantastically comfortable and showers superb and the views across the harbour to the islands are stunning.

Highly recommend a visit if you are in the area and looking for somewhere to stay.. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This B&B consists of two rooms situated on top of a very nice restaurant in Mallaig. The rooms share a kitchen / living room area, but each have their separate bathrooms, so you need never see your neighbors. It's only a stone's throw from the train station, which is great. Both rooms have views of the bay. The bathrooms are very nice! Breakfast is served in the restaurant in the morning and was very tasty. The host was very accommodating when we needed to leave our bags after checkout.

Definitely a great stay for a great value -- I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottD424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Early March 2013, my wife and I stayed for one night following a trip on the west highland railway line from Glasgow. We received a really hospitable welcome from Paul who showed us to our room, room 2. The overall room absolutely lovely, the decor, cleanliness, comfort, shower etc were all first class. We would have no hesitation staying here again and would certainly recommend it.

I've stayed in lots of hotels that do not match up to this place It was great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Excellent B&B adjacent to the restaurant.
Lounge area and kitchen shared between the two bedrooms, so might be sharing with strangers but then not every B&B even offers this. New renovation of the property overlooking the harbour has been done with beautiful woodwork. Only drawback is some sloping ceiling so watch your head after admiring the view.
Kitchen includes a fridge that contained both milk and orange juice- great to have an orange juice while still at the waking up stage. Excellent restaurant - I had a plate of Langoustines which were at least 3cm diam. Breakfast served in the restaurant by the chef- we had fresh fruit salad followed by smoked salmon and scrambled egg in preference to a fry-up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tennand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uddingston, glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed overninght in Mallaig at The Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast. Can't praise it highly enough. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a view over Mallaig's working harbour and beyond. The bathroom was as good as in a high class hotel. Seating and kitchen area was situated outside the room, which could be used if you wanted.Breakfast the next morning was delightful. Fresh fruit salad was waiting on your table for you, as was a selection of cereal,fruit juice and milk. Breakfast menu was smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or cooked breakfast. Very enjoyable while sitting overlooking the harbour. Service first class. There is a restaurant below the bedrooms, and the meal we had in there was also top class. Very handy if you are travelling by train. It's about a minutes walk from the tran station.

If you are going to Mallaig this is definitely the place to stay. It's so handy for the train station and for the ferry.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moirasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
571 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.9 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone

Property: Cornerstone
Address: Main Street, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing