We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the high praise”
Review of Cornerstone

Cornerstone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerstone
Ranked #15 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This B and B deserves all of its five star reviews as the people who run it have thought of everything. The rooms are modern, the beds are comfy, the shower has both a rain head and a hand-held attachment and is stocked with lovely Neutrogena toiletries, and there is also a shared kitchen for tea, coffee, washing up, and the use of a fridge, which is both a luxury and incredibly useful. The view is great and, most impressive of all, the breakfast is perhaps the best I have ever had in a B and B or hotel - it's really delicious. A quality place, well done Cornerstone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minirenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We only stayed one night because it was fully booked, but we easily found somewhere else close by to stay, with the assistance of the owner of Cornerstone.

The view out across the harbour was very very special. The Cornerstone restaurant is pricey but the food is delicious. I had Soup Of The Day and hand dived scallops and my wfe had fish soup and Haddock and chips. Very very good.

Again very friendly and helpful people working there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 904Ross1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Having seen other ratings of 5 stars for this lovely B&B we were not disappointed. It was ideally placed near to the station and we received a pleasant reception. The bedroom (1 of 2) was very comfortable and both it and the modern bathroom were spotless. Also the sitting area (shared) was comfortable and having the kitchen beside this for coffee making etc. was also ideal. We left early to catch the ferry so cannot comment on the cooked breakfast but the continental breakfast provided for us was great. We also enjoyed a tasty dinner downstairs the previous evening. Hope to return for a longer stay someday.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms overlook the harbour so you cannot go wrong for a lovely and interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B and have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms were nice and very tidy and the view overlooking the bay was beautiful. Both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant downstairs were good.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marianne796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Isle of Skye, what a fantastic choice it turned out to be...the rooms were spotless and modern, a lovely shared lounge area with kitchen facilities, the view from the rooms were fantastic looking right over the harbour and everything was on its doorstep, pubs, shops and places to eat. We also had breakfast in the morning which was also lovely in the restaurant below. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, there is no difference between them as they share the same view and are the same lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a great place. Only 2 rooms, both newly decorated with a top end finish. Absolutely spotless with brand new furniture and really comfy beds. The shower was great, once again everything being spotlessly clean. The 2 guys who looked after us were great.
The breakfast is great. You get it in the restaurant downstairs from your room overlooking the harbour. Have the hot salmon and scrambled eggs, Really good! Great service seeing as there are only 2 rooms.
We also had a meal in the cornerstone restaurant below the b and b rooms one evening.
You've got to eat the seafood as you can see the boats that caught your food from the window.

Great place, go ahead and book. You'll enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding and what a little hidden gem it is.. 2 excellently furnished rooms and a large living room area, all to a very high standard. The beds are fantastically comfortable and showers superb and the views across the harbour to the islands are stunning.

Highly recommend a visit if you are in the area and looking for somewhere to stay.. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
615 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
314 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.4 mi away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone

Address: Main Street, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing