We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2nd Visit”
Review of Cornerstone

Cornerstone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerstone
Ranked #15 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent 2nd Visit”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent B&B. Lovely views over the harbour, very short walk from the station, immaculate room and shared living/kitchen/dining area, friendly staff and a fabulous breakfast in the restaurant...everything you could need and want for a comfortable overnight stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatherP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Cornerstone, cant fault this place..just a short stroll from the train station...as other reviews have said it only has two rooms with en suite bathrooms and share a small sitting area and kitchen...rooms were only completed last June and had everything we needed, the bed was also very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep...the view over the harbor is also spectacular...two guys run and own this place and cant do enough to make you comfortable...breakfast was cereal, fresh fruit and a choice of salmon with scrambled egg or Scottish breakfast with toast and tea or coffee..we paid 70 pounds for the two of us on a bed and breakfast basis and was incredible value...Mallaig itself is very pretty but not a lot happening, only has 3 pubs but everyone we met was very friendly..would definitely return...

Room Tip: both rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARYScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This B and B deserves all of its five star reviews as the people who run it have thought of everything. The rooms are modern, the beds are comfy, the shower has both a rain head and a hand-held attachment and is stocked with lovely Neutrogena toiletries, and there is also a shared kitchen for tea, coffee, washing up, and the use of a fridge, which is both a luxury and incredibly useful. The view is great and, most impressive of all, the breakfast is perhaps the best I have ever had in a B and B or hotel - it's really delicious. A quality place, well done Cornerstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minirenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waisai, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We only stayed one night because it was fully booked, but we easily found somewhere else close by to stay, with the assistance of the owner of Cornerstone.

The view out across the harbour was very very special. The Cornerstone restaurant is pricey but the food is delicious. I had Soup Of The Day and hand dived scallops and my wfe had fish soup and Haddock and chips. Very very good.

Again very friendly and helpful people working there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 904Ross1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Having seen other ratings of 5 stars for this lovely B&B we were not disappointed. It was ideally placed near to the station and we received a pleasant reception. The bedroom (1 of 2) was very comfortable and both it and the modern bathroom were spotless. Also the sitting area (shared) was comfortable and having the kitchen beside this for coffee making etc. was also ideal. We left early to catch the ferry so cannot comment on the cooked breakfast but the continental breakfast provided for us was great. We also enjoyed a tasty dinner downstairs the previous evening. Hope to return for a longer stay someday.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms overlook the harbour so you cannot go wrong for a lovely and interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B and have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms were nice and very tidy and the view overlooking the bay was beautiful. Both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant downstairs were good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Isle of Skye, what a fantastic choice it turned out to be...the rooms were spotless and modern, a lovely shared lounge area with kitchen facilities, the view from the rooms were fantastic looking right over the harbour and everything was on its doorstep, pubs, shops and places to eat. We also had breakfast in the morning which was also lovely in the restaurant below. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, there is no difference between them as they share the same view and are the same lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
572 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.9 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone

Property: Cornerstone
Address: Main Street, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing