We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornerstone

Cornerstone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerstone
Ranked #14 of 27 Mallaig B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a clean and nicely decorated room overlooking the harbour. The B&B is in the centre of the village so well located.

Breakfast was very nice and the staff were extremely helpful. We couldn't haev asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer. Room was wonderful with the best en-suite we have had in any B & B. All very modern and spotlessly clean but very cosy and homely. Bed was so comfortable I had the best sleep I've had in a long time. View from the room was spectacular and I was mesmorised watching the boats coming and going. Also saw seals and otters in the harbour from our bedroom window!!

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and again was fantastic. Fruit salad, yoghurt, toast and jam and either full (very full) Scottish Breakfast or Scrambled egg and smoked salmon - had one of each as there for 2 nights - all accompanied by good quality tea or coffee and orange juice. Communal living area and kitchen also lovely, comfortable and modern. Tea and coffee provided as well as milk,orange juice and biscuits. Use of fridge and also nice large dining table should you choose to eat in.

Only downside - we had to leave!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are the same. Parking in Mallaig restricted during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Cornerstone offers just two en-suite rooms, sharing a kitchen/dining/living area. It's all very new and modern, all top quality stuff, looks good and extremely comfortable. Nice bathroom too. Great views of the harbour, and good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast.

The only downside for us was that staying during hot weather in July with the windows open at night, there was some disturbance at night from partying neighbours in/around the pubs in the centre of Mallaig. Judging by the other comments in the guestbook mentioning how quiet it was, and the manager/proprietor's surprise at our mention of the disturbance, this may have been a one-off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent B&B. Lovely views over the harbour, very short walk from the station, immaculate room and shared living/kitchen/dining area, friendly staff and a fabulous breakfast in the restaurant...everything you could need and want for a comfortable overnight stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatherP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Cornerstone, cant fault this place..just a short stroll from the train station...as other reviews have said it only has two rooms with en suite bathrooms and share a small sitting area and kitchen...rooms were only completed last June and had everything we needed, the bed was also very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep...the view over the harbor is also spectacular...two guys run and own this place and cant do enough to make you comfortable...breakfast was cereal, fresh fruit and a choice of salmon with scrambled egg or Scottish breakfast with toast and tea or coffee..we paid 70 pounds for the two of us on a bed and breakfast basis and was incredible value...Mallaig itself is very pretty but not a lot happening, only has 3 pubs but everyone we met was very friendly..would definitely return...

Room Tip: both rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARYScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This B and B deserves all of its five star reviews as the people who run it have thought of everything. The rooms are modern, the beds are comfy, the shower has both a rain head and a hand-held attachment and is stocked with lovely Neutrogena toiletries, and there is also a shared kitchen for tea, coffee, washing up, and the use of a fridge, which is both a luxury and incredibly useful. The view is great and, most impressive of all, the breakfast is perhaps the best I have ever had in a B and B or hotel - it's really delicious. A quality place, well done Cornerstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minirenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waisai, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We only stayed one night because it was fully booked, but we easily found somewhere else close by to stay, with the assistance of the owner of Cornerstone.

The view out across the harbour was very very special. The Cornerstone restaurant is pricey but the food is delicious. I had Soup Of The Day and hand dived scallops and my wfe had fish soup and Haddock and chips. Very very good.

Again very friendly and helpful people working there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 904Ross1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.0 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone

Property: Cornerstone
Address: Main Street, Mallaig PH41 4PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing