We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our Wedding and Honeymoon in Scotland unbelievable, thank you!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made our Wedding and Honeymoon in Scotland unbelievable, thank you!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Before I get down to the of the review of the West Highland Hotel, I would like to thank owners Gavin, Sheena and their brilliant staff for making our visit one of the most memorable and enjoyable stays we have ever had at a hotel.

Just a little back ground to set the scene. My partner and I for reasons I won’t bore you with decided to get married on Eigg and due to the lack of accommodation on Eigg we were forced to have the ceremony and head back to the mainland. We went for the only hotel that we thought would be okay in Mallaig, the West Highland Hotel.

Some of the reviews I had read where a little worrying but after speaking to both Gavin and Sheena at different times we had decided to book the West Highland hotel for 2 nights, 2 rooms, one double and one family room as my sister her partner and children where coming up for the wedding. Gavin explained that since taking over the West Highlands hotel they where in the process of upgrading the rooms and trying to offering a much more personal service than the pervious owners.

Upon arrival we where meet by a friendly and helpful member of staff, checked in and went to our room, the front of the building looking over to the Islands of Eigg and Rum, the hotel had also made sure that my sister and her family had an excellent room next to ours. We arrived earlier than the normal check in time, we had just driven from Inverness after a night on the Caledonian Sleeper, great train but sleeping can be a little hard. No problems to check in early. (Not sure this would be the case in high season but knowing what the staff and owners are like I am sure they would do their upmost to accommodate.)

My sister and her family where driving up from Glasgow that evening so would not be arriving till late that evening. This again was no problem and the bar that should close at 1100pm (weekday’s low season) stayed open a little longer to allow my brother in law to purchase a few drinks to toast our up coming ceremony.

Next morning we meet for breakfast in the spacious dining room with views over Mallaig and out to the Islands beyond, a round beautifully laid table had been arrange for our party and we where offered the usual selection of cereals, pastries, fruit juices tea, coffee and cooked to order a selection of cooked breakfast everything from locally smoked kippers or haddock to the legendary “Full Scottish Breakfast”

After this we finished getting ready for the ceremony and headed down to the ferry terminal (about 300 metres from the hotel) to catch the ferry to Eigg. The West Highland hotel is brilliantly located for everything around Mallaig; restaurants, pubs, shops, the ferry terminal and train station.

After a brief, wonderful ceremony on Eigg we headed back to Mallaig, we didn’t rush back to the hotel as it was lunch time and a little celebrating was required. This was a mistake as Gavin and Sheena where waiting at the hotel with a drop or two of the sparkling stuff. We are sorry we didn’t head back to the hotel and we hope this didn’t cause too much disruption to your day but what we found upon our return blew us away.

We had been moved into the Honeymoon suite (photos added) Phil, front of house had arranged the room, chilled a bottle of champagne, helium balloons, rose petals on the bed. We later learnt that he’d spent the afternoon running around Mallaig trying to find helium for the balloons. Thank you Phil and to all the staff this touch really made our day.

We headed out for dinner but managed to catch up with Gavin and Sheena that evening in the hotel bar and the missed Sparkling came out then. Sorry about the head the next morning Sheena sorry about making you watch the wedding video too.

This hotel is in an excellent location close enough to Ferry, train station not to be effected by traffic. It is a wonderful hotel as a base to explore the local area and beyond. It has ample car parking both at the front and back, the food is of a very high standard my only regret is not having dinner there, the staff are helpful, friendly and polite. This is a family run hotel which is suitable for families or couples. I would thoroughly recommend the West Highland Hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit and will be staying at the West Highland Hotel every time we head to Scotland to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

“Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic” and here’s to many more stays at the West Highland Hotel

Room Tip: Get Married
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ayhplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    198
    130
    38
    23
See reviews for
113
272
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow/London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Just returned from a night's stay here.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. The main ares in the hotel are lovely and what you'd expect from a good quality Highland hotel.

Our room was a little tired looking and it would have been nice to have a shower (we had a shower attachment for the bath) but the baths we had were hot and relaxing! The bed however was excellent and extremely comfortable, we slept very well.

Breakfast was good quality though I asked for toast which never turned up.

All in all a good experience and the area is lovely.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Our room at the West Highland was small but comfortable. We had an amazing view – the hotel is situated on a hill and the front overlooks the ocean. We were there on a Friday night so there was live local music downstairs in the bar, which was great. We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel; the food was fine though unremarkable, and the service was slow but otherwise OK. The one sort of questionable quirk of the hotel: our room was unlocked via an old-fashioned skeleton-type key. As charming as this was, we also had to lock ourselves in from the inside at night…this does not strike me as the safest thing in the world…

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmonger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Drove to Mallaig and spent the night at the West highland, staff very friendly and welcoming. Nice open fire at reception lounge.
Rooms clean, comfortable and tidy, facilities slightly dated but good.
Dined out so cannot comment on dinner, breakfast good in bright surroundings , staff attentive but not overbearing.
Had a good time

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed here on our way to Skye, and had a great time. The staff were really good, the food was excellent. Our room had stunning views and the owners gave us great local advise on where to go and what to see. We thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask the owners, they will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonrwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just back after 4 night enjoyable break at this hotel.After reading the review about children running around the hotel I can only say that I did not see any children running amok..yes there were kids there but they all seemed to be perfectly well behaved.
Location of hotel is good with great views to Rum , Eigg and Skye.Also very close to ferry for Skye.
We were in room 32 which had good views of the isles.Room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choices available.We had our evening meals at the hotel as we were on April rate of £55 pp for BBEM.The meals were fine with good choices available.
Staff at hotel were very nice.They were helpful and friendly.A special mention to Shanna (waitress at breakfast and sometimes dinner) she is a credit to the West Highland hotel .
If planning a visit to Skye whilst there catch the ferry to Armadale and then get the Stagecoach bus from Armadale and for £7pp you get a tour of Skye which includes Talisker whisky distillery,Dunvegan Castle and Portree well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Nice hotel if you don't mind noisy children (owners' & guests') running round restaurant & bar at 9.00pm. No place to relax as children not restricted. Hotel in need of maintnence ie light bulbs etc. Good location and reasonable food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
145 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
303 reviews
6.5 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
18.2 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Hotel

Property: West Highland Hotel
Address: Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your West Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Mallaig
West Highland Hotel Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing