We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well meaning but amateurish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our room was warm, clean and comfortable though rather battered and the en-suite somewhat cramped.

In the restaurant the cooking was good - when it eventually came - but the service chaotic.

There isn't much choice of hospitality in Mallaig and therefore little incentive to do better, and the West Highland will suffice for a night or two while waiting for the ferry. Since much business depends on the ferry it is puzzling that they are unable to serve breakfast early enough for ferry passengers to eat before they leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were here for 2 nights B and B, booked through Expedia. We got all we wanted but were a bit disappointed in our room which was big and modern enough but room prices vary from £80 to £110. Best rooms were overlooking the front and quite rightly justified their price. Our room- room2- was a side room overlooking the commercial part of the harbour- the ice factory etc- splendid views beyond that but charged at £110. Full price? Not right, I feel.
Hotel has had a lot done to it but public areas are very dated. Food was just about adequate but service was slow and seemed very disorganised We did not get back from our day trip until after 9PM but dinner stopped at 8.30PM so we luckily found somewhere to eat but most eateries close early which seems daft with so many foreigners about.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the right price for the right room. Front facing rooms have best outlook but, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horace1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The West Highland Hotel offered us a true Scottish experience. It was cold and raining when we got off the train (about two blocks from hotel). The staff was warm and welcoming and had a two beautiful fires going in the lovely lounge. There were lots of comfy couches with beautiful views of the ocean and isles of Rum, Skye and Eigge. Our room had magnificent views as well. We were fortunate to have reserved the room on second floor on ocean side, which was outstandingly clean and well-appointed. The restaurant was five-star and the pub was charming. We can't wait to go back and spend more time there as we visit all of the isles in the summer time.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view os the ocean. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshaBrown637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had pre-booked this hotel for the early ferry to the Isle of Skye. On our arrival we had an unexpected surprise - our room had been double booked BUT would we like a Superior Room at no extra cost ? What a silly question !! View towards Rhum and the Cuillins soon disappeared due to a shower of rain. Room was clean with large bath. Evening meal and breakfast (cooked to order) were great and varied. Excellent value. Carryon your good work

Room Tip: Excellent hotel for easy access to Isle of Skye ferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for one night here recently with mixed experience. The hotel is nicely located on a hill overlooking the sea with beautiful views. Check-in was fine but our room was a little shabby and the bathroom was simply inadequate. It was very small, poorly lit with no shelves and the showerhead fixed at under 6 feet so it was difficult to stand under it. No wifi in the room but available in the reception area which was cosy and lit by an open fire. We had a seafood dinner which was very good and a satisfactory breakfast. We took a walk around the town but it was closed! However there was some good beer available in the Chlachain Inn next to the hotel. Overall the hotel was OK but one night was enough and we were glad to be back on the train.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noddy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

From the outside I wasn't expecting much but the interior was much, much nicer. Very friendly and accommodating waitress/ receptionist. Went for fish and chips while those I was with opted for mussels. Both the fish and mussels were great - super fresh of course and the mussels were amongst the biggest I've seen. The real highlight though was the chips. I've eaten a lot of chips in my life and one bite in I was immediately contemplating that they could be the best chips I've ever had. The second confirmed it. Crispy outsides and heavenly fluffy insides. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Finn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have known this hotel for 35 years as we used to park a car or two for 2 weeks, whilst we went fishing. We always called in for a couple of beers and lunch and on our return home to collect cars, we used to have a good breakfast in the hotel.
Knowing I was going to arrive late in Mallaig and could not get a boat transfer, I actually stayed for 1 night for the first time. I had a spacious en-suite room and a very good cooked breakfast. I thought this was good value for money. I personally found the staff friendly and helpful.
Mallaig is a gateway to the Western Isles and therefore I would presume that the hotel staff can not get to know guests as they only stay 1-2 nights. Compared to when anyone holidays in the same hotel for a week or more, when staff can get to know your preferences.
Mike W.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Hotel

Address: Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Price Range: £81 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Mallaig
West Highland Hotel Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing