We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond words!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar B & B

Shalimar B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shalimar B & B
Ranked #22 of 27 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beyond words!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner and I spent four days a couple of weeks ago at Ben's lovely B&B. It was a bit like visiting a friend: Ben took care of us from start to finish, the legendary breakfast lived up to its hype, and Ben took us on tours by road and sea to show us the area around Mallaig.

The room was large, warm, and comfortable. Despite the remote location, the amenities were top-notch. Take a few days off from your busy schedule and stay at Mallaig. Skype and the other islands are within striking distance. You won't regret this trip. We certainly don't!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uday C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
33
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Ben was very kind and helful with advices for my trip in Scotland.
This place is very clean,the beds are comfortable and the breakfast good and plenty.
The view the next morning was amazing,and I wanted an early start,and Ben didn't mind getting up for me.
Thank you B

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vurbaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed one night intending to catch the ferry to Eigg the next day. Unknown to us the CalMac ferry had been cancelled, so when Ben found out, he booked us a place on the smaller ferry. We really appreciated his thoughtfulness. Breakfast is fabulous - there is anything and everything, lots of it, freshly cooked and good quality. He checked in advance about dietary needs and got in some soya milk for my husband. I've read some not so good reviews and really don't know what these reviewers are talking about. Shalimar is a proper B&B - you are staying in someone's home so even though you are a paying guest you have to respect that. If you want impersonal service and anonymity you should stay in a big hotel. The room with ensuite was really nice, clean and had everything we could want. Ben was friendly and helpful, but not "over the top" so we had as much privacy as we wanted. I would recommend Shalimar strongly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenThomas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was travelling on my own to the Isle of Skype and on my way I stopped in Mallaig for a night. Everything about Ben's B&B was great. Clean, Welcoming, helpful, lovely breakfast, lovely views... I was lucky to meet there another traveller and thanks to Ben I got no only a lift to Skye but a companion on my trip. It was a beautiful experience and Ben was a great host. And the balcony faces West where you can sip a glass of wine while you enjoy the beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a one day stopover in Mallaig. The weather was awful, but Ben, the owner of Shalimar, was wonderful, he gave us a tour of the area, which otherwise we wouldn't have seen, and gave us lifts into town, because it was raining. Ben really went the extra mile.
The B & B was clean and comfortable, and Ben produced the most enourmous tasty breakfast. Wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAA703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

DONT STAY HERE !!!!
if you are on a diet !!!!!
The breakfast has to be seen to be believed.
But seriously, Ben our host, cant do enough for you. I was using Mallaig as my base, as i was doing a touring holiday in my car.
Ben's knowledge of the roads of the highlands is unbeleivable, he gave me invaluable info on where to go, and what to see
shalimar is a real home from home, you will need for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for a night on 6 July. Everything was perfect in this gem of a place. Ben is a very thoughtful and helpful person who makes you feel so welcome in his home. He very kindly gave our daughter her own room. Ben did everything he could to assist us. We had a lovely time exploring around Mallaig including finding the Local Hero beach! We anxiously wondered whether we could conquer Ben's fabled and enormous breakfast but it was a great introduction to black pudding, haggis and other local delicacies - and then we skipped lunch! Thanks very much Ben!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.6 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
5.9 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.8 mi away
GlenanCross GuestHouse
0.7 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar B & B

Property: Shalimar B & B
Address: Fank Brae | Glasnacardoch, Mallaig PH41 4RH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Shalimar Bed And Breakfast
Shalimar Hotel Mallaig
Shalimar B & B Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing