We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Wow! I Can't Stop Looking At The Views"”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the decking area
lone fishing boat in the sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
View from the decking area
lone fishing boat in the sunset
sunset from the decking
Sunset over Rhum
Front Living Room
kitchen
Bathroom with separate shower
Ferry coming into Port
sunset over Eigg & Rhum from the Decking Area
Davaar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mallaig, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nick O
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Wow! I Can't Stop Looking At The Views"”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed from the 22/10/16 too 29/10/16 and these were the words I said to my wife the first morning at Davaar after arriving the night before in the dark, we were all captivated by the place. We stayed with our two daughters, their partners and our 12 year old grandson. There was plenty of room with 4 bedrooms and 2 lounges, both with loveley views over Mallaig and across to Skye, Rhum and Eigg. The decking area is ideal for taking photographs and I took some great shots of sunrise and sunset looking out to the islands and over the harbour. The property looked impressive on the Trip Advisor site, but really didn't prepare us for the spaciousness and facilities, yet still with a warm cosy feel. Another reviewer described it as a home away from home and we agree with these sentiments. Siobhan had a welcome pack waiting for us, a nice touch and much appreciated after leaving Lincoln at 7.30 am and arriving at 7.00 pm due to heavy traffic on the way up.
The facilities in Mallaig are all you need with a Co Op and a Spar Shop for supplies and several eating places. We used the Steam Inn and the Chlachain Inn where the service was excellent and the food was good value (recommend the cullen skink), we also had a fish supper from "The Cabin" on our last night.
For rainy days there is a swimming pool in Mallaig, but we didn't use it. There is also the Glenfinnan viaduct as featured in Harry Potter behind the Glenfinnan visitor centre that tells the story of Bonnie Prince Charlie who raised his standard in Glenfinnan to start the Jacobite rebellion that culminated at the battle of Culloden.
We went to the Glencoe visitor centre and Fort Augustus on a couple of days when it rained, but spent most of our time on the beach at Camasdarach as featured in the films "Highlander" and "Local Hero" (my all time favourite film). You need to look out for a small car park on the left just past the Camasdarach camp site as you head towards Mallaig. We also saw the "Hary Potter" train in at Mallaig station.
We have holidayed in Scotland some 25 times since 1991, normally staying at a pine lodge at Drumnadrochit each October. We generally do about 2 -2500 miles on a weeks holiday in Scotland. On this holiday we did 1200 miles! We loved the area so much we did not want to venture far.
Would we go back? Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location for stunning views and the size, layout and facilities of the property
Liked least: A couple of rainy days but to be expected in late October
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Hi Nick,
Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm pleased you and your family had a good time in Davaar and Mallaig. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an exceptionally comfortable and cozy cottage with outstanding views over the Sound of Sleat to the Isles of Skye, Rum and Eigg. It is very well equipped with all home comforts and a great place to relax with friends and family. The only minor concern was the height of the front door steps which are very high and difficult for the less able bodied, we did however find it much easier using the steps on to the decking and going in by the side entrance.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Dear Mr & Mrs Stevenson. Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you both had a nice stay at Davaar.
Kindest regards
Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectation- a spacious holiday house in a fantastic situation with all mod con.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented many holiday homes over the years and this is one of the best. We were 5 adults 2 lively 4 year olds and a baby and there was ample space and facilities to make us all comfortable and relaxed.
Liked it so much we are going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation within the village but private
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Hello Liz,

Thank you for your kind review it is appreciated. Looking forward to welcoming you and your guests back next month.

Kindest regards
Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
Dent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An amazingly well appointed self catering facility with views across to Eigg, Rum and Skye. The bungalow was short of nothing and more than exceeded our expectations.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hi Jo,

Thank you very much for your positive review it is appreciated. I am glad you and your guests had a good holiday at Davaar.

Kindest regards

Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bruth
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing home from home”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had great holiday with extended family. House was ideally located,near enough to the main high street for easy access, but lovely and peaceful base. Fantastic views from house, even with changing weather, the scenery was always dramatic. House was very well equipped with all we needed for our stay. Now trying to organise ourselves for a return trip to Davaar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped house in convenient location
Liked least: having to end holiday!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Hello Ruth, thank you for your kind and positive review, I am pleased you had a good holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureenmc...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Immaculate house with amazing views from the large decked balcony. Soo peaceful and private,yet only a few minutes walk down to the village..Thanks to the owners for the generous Welcome pack...it was greatly appreciated. We have brought home wonderful memories of outstanding sunsets and the unexpected arrival of 3 deer on the hill at the side of the house. No need to pack the kitchen sink as the house is well stocked with soo many extras. Fabulous week, thanks Siobhan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !!
Liked least: Nothing !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Hello Maureen, thank you for your lovely review, so glad you had a great week. Kindest regards Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJVoukel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just back from a fabulous 5 days at Davaar. The accomodation is immaculate and very cosy! It offers breathtaking views from the balcony looking out to the sea and the small town below! I highly recommend this to others looking for the perfect accomodation in Mallaig!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hello Beverley, thank you for your positive review. Glad you had a good holiday. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing