We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Shed Cafe

Blue Shed Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Torrin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I came across,The Blue Shed Cafe on our way to Elgol - it looked just the sort of place we love. We only had cold drinks and a cake which were all fine - the only thing that let's this cafe down is the attitude of the owner. Not a smile in sight - customer service is somimportant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit. Great views and fantastic cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wonderful stop off on Easter Sunday . . very busy but the staff were still very attentive and the cakes were fantastic. Great value too, we'll be back again in another couple of years . . wish we lived a little closer! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty_s2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made our day complete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We love the outdoors. But we also love our comforts. After a very long, cold, and tiring day taking in the stunning sights all we wanted was to put our feet up and splurge on some comfort food. This place didn't disappoint. The soup brought us back to life and the coffee and cakes hit the spot.

Despite my best efforts the (presumed) owner - a genial chap - wouldn't divulge his secret recipe for the soup, though he did hint at some of the spices it contained.

When we finished and went outside we discovered we'd got a flat tyre, and as soon as the owner saw us he jumped in without giving it a second thought and helped us to change the wheel. We'd had a long day, but so too had he (in fact probably even longer if he was up early, baking etc)

Glad to have found this very homely place and would love to visit again one day. Highly recommended.

Andrew Bonehill, Dublin

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonehill70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallaig, Highlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware the owner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have to share the observations of the (male) owner of this otherwise fine establishment. Yes the views are great, the coffee is good, the choice of snacks is rather limited and the female staff always obliging, but all this is let down by the sometimes arrogant and rude male who struts around from time to time and unfortunately has a loud and oppiniated voice. I frequent this cafe quite regularly because of its location and although I resent handing over money to somebody who clearly wants to be somewhere else I've actually grown to see his attitude quite comic, not Fawlty Towers comic yet, but he's well on the way.
So if you do find your way down this neck of the woods, do pop in for a good coffee, but try and catch the eye of one of the girls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ducatiwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony D, Owner at Blue Shed Cafe, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Ducatiwonderer,
We are sorry that you found our customer service less than satisfactory on your previous visit to the café. As with many people, there were personal issues in the background and, while this does not excuse my manner, I can only apologise and hope that you will consider trying us again when you are this way on your travels.

regards
Antony & Justine Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What is wrong with the owner?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

First and foremost, the coffee and food was good. Very good.

We first visited the Blue Shed a year ago and due to the (presumed) owners attitude I vowed never to return. He seems to be mega stressed, and as nippy as a sherbet dip. A simple request to change the order from tea to coffee (at the ordering stage) seemed to be a Herculean task and was met with huffs and puffs strong enough to shake the shed. We sat outside and payment was demanded before delivering the food to the table. This was rural Skye for gods sake. As a middle aged couple we are hardly the dine and dash types. Anyway the food arrived, served by a very friendly waitress and was good. But, and it is a BIG but, the overall impression was pretty poor. We spent the whole time hoping that the angry man didn't come out of his hut again to chastise or puff at us.

Fast forward one year. Hillwalking close to the cafe we thought, "ok, maybe he was just having a bad day, no other options, so lets try again". And guess what? You've guessed it! Huffs and sighs and a high 'nippy' level. I can only guess this is normal behaviour.

As before the food was good, as was the coffee. And the service from the older waitress was lovely. Maybe she is also the owner? If so i can only suggest that the husband takes a leaf out of the wife's book.

Maybe next year we will go back. but then again probably not.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dundall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony D, Owner at Blue Shed Cafe, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Dundall,
We are sorry that you found our service unsatisfactory on your visit. With regards to payment outside, it is our policy to ask customers to pay first as it enables us to manage our customer orders better especially at busy times. We appreciate that you may have come at a quiet time but we try to be consistent with this approach for all outside customers and know of many other establishments where this is the same approach. With regards to my attitude, I can only apologise as I did not intend any offence. As with many people, there have been personal issues in the background which may have led me to act in a less then personable manner for which I sincerely apologise. We can only hope that if you are in the area again you will consider visiting us again.
regards
Antony & Justine Davies, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Shed Cafe also viewed

Kilmaluag, Isle of Skye
Culnacnoc, Isle of Skye
 
Culnacnoc, Isle of Skye
 
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Carbost, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Blue Shed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing