We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 878 Waterfront Bistro

The 878 Waterfront Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: open since 2010.french, International.
Grand Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Great food! Exceptional and friendly service. A gem in Perth-Andover. The food is delicious and the owners are courteous. We were amazed by the atmosphere, the music and the food. A definite recommendation!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveMaine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Basically the food is incredible and I loved it.
My wife and I decided to try this restaurant out while on vacation and it was so good we made sure to go back the very next day.
I look forward to the next visit!
Try it for yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StrollTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkhill, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a pleasant lunch-time surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Greg and I were feeling peckish, having taken the very early ferry from Grand Manon and then driven through the country-side and then along the Trans-Canada Highway. At Perth -Andover we decided to stop for lunch. There was a Tim Horton's by the highway but for a change I suggested we look for a place to eat in the town itself. We were headed for a bakery, advertised with a number of other businesses on a sign on the way into town; however, it was closed. Disappointed we walked back to the car which we had parked directly in front of the 878 Waterfront Bistro. The patio looked a bit bare, having been cleared off in the chill of autumn, but we went in anyway. What a cheerful place: the deco was vaguely Japanese with orange red blue and greeen paper lanterns and lights,. The food was tasty - I had a turkey sandwich on a croissant. Greg had a hamburger without the bun and with Portobello mushrooms. Both were excellent. The chef came round to say hello to each table. Our server, a brisk friendly woman, suggested the local ginger ale, which was just right. She said they had been open for about four years! We'll definitely go back; it's well worth the extra ten minutes from the highway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMGHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful restaurant in this small town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

There were seven people in our party and everyone loved their meal! The menu has enough choices for a casual or more formal meal. They handled my three allergy issues with great care and the food and service were perfect for our needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDA024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
421 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“the best place for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

we go through New Brunswick every year, and have got to the point that we plan where to stay so we can eat here. Charles, the chef, is very original in the way he prepares his dishes, but always way above average in taste and presentation. His wife, who runs the front of house, is also a treat -- very welcoming with a few good stories about the Danish heritage here. From what I observe, this has become the place where hikers through the Appalachian chain have learned to come for a good meal and people who want a little something special, which makes for a nice mood at the place. They also offer good local craft beer, a nice way for local and independent businesses to support each other. Wayne r

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 878 Waterfront Bistro also viewed

Florenceville-Bristol, New Brunswick
 
Perth-Andover, New Brunswick
Perth-Andover, New Brunswick
 

Been to The 878 Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing