We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in Room 4 and could not ask for much more.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackenzie House Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stayed in Room 4 and could not ask for much more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Here again there are several rooms at this location that offer different amenaties. We stayed in room 4 which is what the pictures on trip advisor show. The room is separate from the main house upstairs over a billards room. The room is big with a jacussi and shower and large bed I think a king. It is very quiet since it is away from the main house. It has offstreet parking. The house is located on a short cul-de-sac. Breakfast was at 8:30 and was a very well prepared eggs, bacon, toast, and coffee. The innkeeper is Sandy. One reviewer said he was grumpy. Seemed nice enough to me but did seem to keep his distance. One suggestion for Sandy would be better communications after booking like maybe a follow up email to confirm the reservation. Also could be upfront and let you know that there is a deposit when you book. Two suggestions to make this place a 5 star.

Room Tip: Price out each room and where they are located in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_MacKenzie, Owner at Mackenzie House Tourist Home, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your great review of this property. I have noted your recommendations and as a result I have included notification that a deposit may be taken with the clients approval and confirmation is given in follow up email or at the time of the phone call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

When we arrived at this place, we rang the door bell and there was no answer. Then we noticed a note on the door that gave us instructions on how to find our room.
The Celtic room was very disappointing regarding the quality of the furniture and bedding especially since it was advertised as a Canada Select 5 Star property. The straw chairs belonged on a patio and the rest of the furniture was warn and low quality. We left and came back later that evening.
When I folded down the comforter on the bed, I noticed strands of hair on the pillow. I checked the other pillow and there was also hair on it. When I checked between the sheets, I found more hair. It was evident that the sheets were not changed after the last guest slept in that bed.
I wanted to leave and find another place to stay, but since it was getting late, I decided to try and find the lady in charge. When she saw the hair in the bed, she changed the sheets and offered us an apology and a glass of wine. We declined the wine. There was also more hair found in the bathroom on the floor around the toilet.
Since I am a regular tea drinker, at breakfast I was told there was none. This place was extremely disappointing and would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sbvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I booked two nights and located MacKenzie House with good directions from Sandy, the inn keeper. The House is located in a subdivision in a middle class neighborhood. No views of the water. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful but served on mis-matched china. Wall hangings and decorations appeared to have come from a rumage sale. The not always grumpy Sandy gave good advice on surrounding attractions. Pool room was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwanttobeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

The property and rooms are well taken care of and the bed was outstanding. A full hot breakfast was served each morning at the time we indicated to the host. The biscuits and fresh bread coupled with pouched or fried eggs, bacon and hot coffee provided a wonderful way to begin each day.
The host was very obliging providing some interesting background discussions and excellent suggestions. The room was completely cleaned each day. It felt so good coming back each day to this property as we knew how well we would be treated and the care which was being taken to ensure our comfort.
The property, at the entry area of Cape Breton Island, was well located for our purposes. The room we had was quiet providing us with plenty of opportunity to get a good nights rest.
MacKenzie House is highly recommended by us and we plan to be back in the fall to pamper ourselves once again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KShask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

After reading the reviews, we were looking forward to staying here. It is in a great location if you are attending the Opening Night Concert of the Celtic Colours however the noise from the showers and toilets throughout the house kept us awake. Be prepared for an early rise if you are sleeping upstairs as the noise from the breakfast room travels up the stairway. During the off-season, this house, B&B, caters to the college students.
The rooms were clean and the breakfast very nice, however, the house lacked any feeling of warmth or cozyness.. It is a large, relatively new house in a subdivision operated as a business. Note: careful that you are given the room that you booked!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swifterbant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

This 5 star B&B is worth the stay. The B&B is very cosy, has a private parking place and is situated in a quiet neighbourhood of Port Hawkesbury. The room we had was very clean and large, nice bed and had a cable TV and we could make use of the common living room. Breakfast was excellent. Price: $105,- excl. 13% taxes (we had the smallest room availible).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

I have stayed at MacKenzie House twice in the last two months while in the area on business. It is now my preferred destination. Beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds; clean, modern rooms; great location close to downtown but far enough away to be quiet. The included breakfast has been delicious and served when needed. Service has been friendly and A1 - no issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.1 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
69.9 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
12.3 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
45.8 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Peter's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie House Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie House Tourist Home

Property: Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Address: 4 Tupper Crt, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie House Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie House is a Canada Select 5 Star property strategically located at the entry area of Nova Scotia's masterpiece, Cape Breton Island. This is the ideal location for those planning a vacation to explore the island and experience the seascapes, outstanding cuisine, hospitality, rousing ceilidhs and inspiring history. Visit the island and you will soon realize why Cape Breton has been given the distinction as one of the most beautiful islands in the world. We provide warm hospitality in a quality setting on the front porch of Cape Breton Island. Treat yourself to the luxury of a property rated by Canada Select to be among the best in the country. We take pride in providing you with a very high level of service, hospitality and quality accommodations. Our assistance and guidance is available upon request in an effort to make your stay more enjoyable and create a desire to stay a little longer or return to experience more of our culture. The property has all the expected amenities including air conditioning, free wifi, outside entrances, telephones in the rooms, en suite baths, queen and king size beds, kitchenette, guest's dining area, free hot breakfasts, laundry, games room, in room TVs, in room desks, guest living room, etc. Enjoy a fine home while visiting this remarkable island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mackenzie House Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie House Tourist Home Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing