We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of my trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Coffeebar - CLOSED

Haven Coffeebar
Cuisines: Soups, Cafe, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stumbled on this place as a total accident when i was out on a walk on my day off from being a tourist. As others have said for a non local it would be hard to find if you were specifically looking for it. It is on the commercial waterfront past the railway line and the Sailing Club.

The man who served me was the baker and owner i think. He was amazingly helpful. I liked the food and the inclination towards thinking about healthy food and vegetarian. I also loved the teas they sell and the quirky tea bags. I bought some of the tea and offered to buy some of the tea bags. The man gave me a bundle of the bags and of the bamboo twist sticks which support them in the cup. My friend gave me more of the bags when she saw that I liked them. Along with samples of the teas these were a big hit with friends and family when I got home and solved the issue of a token but thoughtful gift for well wishers. i owe him many thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Coffeebar supports localy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent coffee and tea with friendly staff, great service, and an amazing view of the waterfront. I look forward to returning at Christmas!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fitnesspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foodie Haven when I needed it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This is a delightful spot for lunch along the Port Hawkedbury waterfront. Just when I thought I would rather die than eat another piece of fried fish or processed meat, we stumble upon Haven. A haven indeed! Artisanal breads made on site, local coffee, gourmet teases, fresh ingredients. Some take away food products from Cape Breton and gift items, all locally made.
The bread is lovely and we bought a loaf in addition to enjoying our sandwiches made on warm focaccia. Mint lavender iced tea to wet my whistle or cold coke in the bottle. Right on the harbor, nice breeze.
We plan to head back later this afternoon for ice cream and a cappuccino.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GretaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Difficult to find but worth it ! Wonderful breads cooked on site to buy and snack menus using them. Lovely couple who run it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamson, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best. Brownies. Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Limited menu but everything we had here was excellent! Our sandwiches on store-baked breads were made with very fresh ingredients and were very good. We took home some of the best store-baked bread I have ever eaten. My daughter loved the store-made garlic pesto but the pièce de résistance was the espresso ganache brownies, hands down the very best brownies it has been my pleasure to devour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haven Coffeebar also viewed

Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing