We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hawkesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourview B&B and Motel
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent B&B”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here with family. Two stayed in the motel unit and two in the main residence. Both were excellent. John was very helpful in advising us of sites and local places to eat. Was one of the best breakfasts we had on our vacation. Definitely a place to stay while on route to Sydney. Great experience.

Room Tip: Both the main residence and motel units at the back provided for all our needs. Clean and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodmanspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in the motel units for one night and had a nice, clean room with plenty of space and a comfortable bed. Breakfast in the main house was very good with fresh fruit, and an assortment of standard breakfast fare. Our host was especially helpful in finding us a great restaurant (Pa Pa's Pub & Eatery) which I'm sure we would never have found....their fresh haddock was great! The late night train that passed by was pretty loud, but not a big deal.

Room Tip: The motel rooms are fine a for one or two night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

....and it was Awesome!!!

Clean, comfortable, charming....our hosts John and Sharon were most gracious and truly made us feel at home. We were in the upstairs room in the house, the one with 2 double beds. Breakfast was delicious, John makes awesome ea biscuits, loaded with fruits or cheese. My Atkins diet was impossible to maintain for the two days we stayed here.

Oh the bathroom, it was something else. Huge, with a claw-foot tub. Don't worry, there is also a shower stall. Each room has it's own bathroom.

We found that the best part of staying at a B&B are the wonderful and interesting guests one gets to meet.

Room Tip: Only go elsewhere if Harbourview is full! They also have motel units which also get to enjoy breakf...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in the motel unit as the rooms in the house were booked. Private, spotless and everything we needed for a peaceful sleep. Everything in the room worked properly. Smelled fresh and clean, not "perfumey" like some places who try to disguise bad smells. The owners are such lovely and friendly people. Delicious hot breakfast and fresh fruit and biscuits. Highly recommend this place to everyone!! Linda and Jake, Ontario

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosumitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at this B&B on the last night of our two-week trip through Nova Scotia. We were staying in hostels the entire time, and decided to treat ourselves for the final night. This place was a great choice! We were in the main house, in the room with two double beds and a private bathroom on the second floor. The room was very nice, and the floor was quite pretty with the vinyl area rug (very unique but very functional!). We couldn't figure out how to work the shower in our bathroom (I think we were just so tired from travel), so we ended up having to use the gorgeous claw foot tub instead for "showering." It was certainly a different way to go about washing hair, but I guess it was just like the old days when this house was built. Great bathroom too!

The location was fantastic as it is right on the Causeway, the breakfast was superb, the price is great, and the hosts were so friendly. I would definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in one of the "original" B&B rooms upstairs in the main house. It was very spacious, and the bathroom, even though not ensuite, right next to it with plenty of space as well. Breakfast was a large buffet of everything you could wish for, including hot cooked choices and homemade jam. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked through the tourist office the day we arrived, good value. Very friendly hosts, nice clean rooms (we stayed in the attached motel-like rooms, not in the beautiful main building), very nice breakfast room, nice patio with great view of the bay. Excellent breakfast. Good location for a walk to the harbour. The railway is very close, so sometimes passing trains are very loud. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 448rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
0.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
157 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
11 reviews
44.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
272 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Groundswell
The Groundswell
#1 of 1 in D'Escousse
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview B&B and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview B&B and Motel

Property: Harbourview B&B and Motel
Address: 209 Granville St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2G4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast is a restored Provincial Heritage Property that was built in 1880 for Ferry Captain James Embree. The property is located on the water with a large enclosed patio overlooking the Strait of Canso and conveniently located next to the yacht club/marina, boardwalk, and Granville Green which offers free outdoor concerts on Sunday evenings in July and August. This is a great home base for your Cape Breton vacation featuring the legendary Cabot Trail, Fortress of Louisbourg, Alexander Graham Bell Museum & other attractions. The B&B main house accommodations include 2 guest rooms: one with a queen-size bed, private bath, satellite television, and air conditioning; and one with 2 double beds, private bath and air conditioning. Our motel accommodations include air conditioned guest units with queen size beds, (some also have a double size sofabed), a 4 piece bath, satellite television, fridge, and microwave. Breakfast is included with all rooms and all of our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free off street parking, free wireless internet access and coin operated guest laundry facilities. Sorry no pets are allowed. Visa, Mastercard, Direct Debit and cash are accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourview B&B And Motel Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing