We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbourview B&B and Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdeen Motel(Whycocomagh)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebridean Motel(Port Hood)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Whycocomagh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claymore Inn(Antigonish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
33
21
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
21
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseold housefresh fruitcape bretonrooms are basiccabot trailnova scotianext morningnice bathroomcheese biscuitsa great place to staysharonunithostsbreakfastscreenedfridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way from North Sydney to PEI. The place is sort of a Victorian type home and is located in a pleasant neighborhood with a view of the harbor. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with the bathroom being accessible from the hallway and not from our room. The place has wifi and the owners are charming hosts. Our room was comfortable and very clean and neat. The only problem we encountered was with the showerhead. It couldn't be adjusted and was at an uncomfortable angle. However, everything else was fine. The breakfast consisted of bacon, eggs, toast, biscuits, cereal, juice, coffee, and cookies and was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The Harbourview is a nice, quiet old house. (There's a motel part too, but we stayed in the Bed & Breakfast proper.) Beautifully maintained and furnished. It's like staying in someone's home (someone who maintains a nice house!). The bedroom we stayed in was on the 2nd floor and wasn't especially private - the bathroom wasn't shared, but was just outside in the hall, for instance, but that didn't seem to be a bother. The floors are old and sqeaky, as you'd expect in a place like this.

The propietors were gracious hosts. At the breakfast in the morning - which was delicious - they chatted with us without seeming pushy and were helpful when we inquired about some needed car repairs (we had a problem with a tire).

The view from the hotel is nice - it really is a harbor view! Also, Port Hawkesbury is right at the start of Cape Breton so is convenient both to the rest of the island and also to mainland Nova Scotia.

It's a Bed and Breakfast, so it isn't a particularly amenity filled place. But if that's what you're looking for, you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

On a long planned Labor Day week end trip to Nova Scotia, we contacted the Harbourview B & B and Motel in Port Hawkesbury on Breton Island based on the TripAdvisor reviews. TA enthused further that for $54/ night we would have quite a wonderful place to stay and eat. Calling over a day early on our own dime (no toll free offered), a woman affirmed an opening but denied that Harbourview ever had a $54 room rate. After taxes, we were quoted just under $100 (Canadian) for lodging the next evening. We agreed and dutifully provided our credit car number and cell phone. “Call if you are to be here after 10PM,” she said. Arriving at 7:45PM the next evening, over two hours early, we were bushed from 10 hours of travel by car and most eager for some rest. “We have a problem here as your credit card number did not register,” said the lady, implying that I was somehow trying to cheat; I pulled out the VISA card and, sure enough, she had written down one number incorrectly and had given our evening’s abode to someone else! No call to us, no ownership of a mistake and absolutely no apology. On her suggestion, we went to the Gagnon House for the night and were pleased. Harbourview, that’s no way to treat a customer anywhere; shame on the woman manager!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank FCS_4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My son, wife and I stayed one night in one of the motel units. The property is located by the Strait of Canso. The room was clean and just enough for 3 adults. We arrived in late afternoon when one of the guests dressed in Scottish costumes playing windpipe on the large deck facing the water with a nice sunset. Luckily we did hear any train at night. Breakfast was average. In my view, it is still a bit pricey considering the living cost in the area. We paid almost $100 for the night, on par with a chain hotel in a large city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This B & B is on the waterfront with partially industrial water views over the Strait of Canso. It's simple, clean and inexpensive. There's a small fridge and a microwave in a small kitchen area. The rooms are behind the old house and have a trailer feel. The dead bolt lock was broken, but the satellite TV worked. The breakfast buffet was okay, but not exceptional; the bed was just okay also. Bath towels are a bit small, but we didn't hear any trains during our one night stay. Not the place to spend a week, but perfectly fine for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews