We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR THE FOOD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FOR THE FOOD!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have never been here overnight, nor been in any of the rooms so I couldn't form an opinion on that, however I've been into the diner here more than a handful of times (Being from the area) and the only thing I can say about it is, good food!

I have never been disapointed with the quality of their food. Everything that's meant to be hot is served hot, in fair sized portions, at a fair price, and a friendly casual atmosphere.

It's no fine dining, but if you're looking to just eat and be happy, this is a good place to go....

Room Tip: If you don't like the rooms, perhaps try a B&B. There are plenty in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
23
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stopped here after a long day because two other motels in the area had not yet opened for the season. The peeling paint and general appearance of shabbiness should have been a warning. We killed a spider in the bathtub. The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows flat. I woke up in the morning to discover about a half-dozen bites on my neck and scalp. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Hawkesbury hotels

Hammonds Plains,NS
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The outside looked like we should have booked somewhere else...but the room was clean, beds were comfortable and we had a view of the Canso Strait. The mini-fridge kept things cold and there was a dvd player with the tv. There is still some cosmetic issues to be addressed but you can see that a few have been done.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hali-in-cuba64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Not sure of the current name of the place we stayed. It was actually across the road from the Hearthstone Inn.....was formerly Econolodge, but I think is perhaps owned by same.
We arrived late evening with no reservation on the Thanksgiving weekend. Room was comfortable and clean. We were delighted to find they had an indoor pool. Although it was in a separate building the weather was warm enough to walk over with our swimsuits on. We had a great swim for an hour before bed. Continental breakfast was cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice....about what you would expect. Location is good right at the beginning of Cape Breton Island. Price was more than I would have expected in the off-season.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureLovers
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at this motel for two nightas the end of Sept 2012.Used it as our
base for a day trip around the Cabot Trail.
The location was perfect for this.The hotel itself appeared outdated on the exterior
so we didn't know what we were getting into.
Check in was fine with a nice lady checking us in.If I understood right the office
closed at 11P.M..The room we stayed in was fine and looked like it had been updated,
with a comfortable bed,nice T.V. and the bathroom was clean with lots of hot water.
Friends who stayed with us did fine a great bit of dust behind their desk.
The website stated that they serve a continental breakfast,however,there was no
sign of one,although,they do have a nice restaurant. We had a nice breakfast of
coffee,2 eggs,bacon,hashbrowns and toast for $6.99,and the service was excellent.
I might stay here again if the price was a little lower,however,I didn't feel that this
hotel warranted the price they charged,especially in late Sept,however maybe they
charge that because of the location. Overall we would rate this a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed there at the end of August 2012. We arrived late at around 9PM. The entrance to our room had lots of spider webs. Some of them are really BIG. The room was clean but it had some kind of bad smell. This place does not provide breakfast. We checked out very early next day. It was not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollock Pines, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed one night on our way from Ingonish to Halifax. We were appalled that the carpet and bedspread were stained, the wallpaper was peeling, the paint was dirty and chipped, the lampshade was torn and stained, and the towels were thin.The old baseboard heater was rusted with part of it broken off (but it worked using the wall thermostat). There was 1 desk and 1 desk chair but no table or armchairs.

On the up side, the cabinetry was nice, the bed and desk chair were comfortable, the mini-fridge was new and the microwave was clean, plus there was a coffeemaker, iron and hairdryer. The bathroom shower curtain was clean and the tile floor looked new. There were 2 packaged cookies with the coffeemaker. Our room had a view of the Cansco Strait.

This motel would be a 3 star if they would finish updating everything in the rooms, especially the carpet, bedspreads, wallpaper and heating unit. Maybe they keep the light wattage low so people won't notice the stains, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caltraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
173 reviews
65.8 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
15.0 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.7 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
66.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
66.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Property: Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing