We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great Service and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Great Service and Hospitality”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have been staying at the Maritime Inn regularly for business travel for many years now. Their recent renovations have again shown their committment to constant improvement. The staff always offer a warm welcome and go out of their way to ensure that everything with your stay exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the rear on the 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDthebadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    82
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
47
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

After trying two other hotels that closed at 11 (tried at 11:01- they closed while we were in the parking lot, and the other at 11:09 who would not check us in after 11) we were relieved at being able to rent a room!

It is a basic older hotel but the staff at the front desk are great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Had 2 rooms for myself and sister and brother-inlaw. The rooms were clean and roomy good place to stop after the Cabot Trail. Had breakfast there and was good and reasonable price. The rooms were reasonably priced. The swimming pool was not heated, water was quite cold.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazlin6560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We thought "best surprise is no surprise" but no.

We had booked a "deluxe executive suite with a balcony" and a cot in the room. At The Maritime Inn a room has a bed, an"executive suite" has a bed and a chair and a "deluxe executive suite" has a bed and two chairs. Don't be fooled by talk of a "sitting area".

Our room was not ready at check in and still not ready when we had to leave for the wedding at almost 4 o'clock, even though they had let most of the housekeeping staff leave for the day. We came back at 1 o'clock in the morning to be told that they had not put a cot in the room as booked and confirmed and that all cots were locked away and they could offer us an air mattress that we would have to make up ourselves. We paid an unbelievable 145 plus tax a night and to put it into perspective we just booked the Sofitel Heathrow terminal 5 for 127. Halifax has many nicer hotels for under 145, so does the South Shore of Nova Scotia and the Valley

The front desk staff were very nice but obviously the management just don't get it in this part of the world that hospitality and value for the dollar is very important in the hotel business.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haligone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing visit with our property in Port Hawkesbury. The problem with the late check - in and not having a cot in the room as reserved, was a failure on our part. Please be aware that this quality of service is not typical. We strive for a high standard of service, unfortunately we did not meet that standard and for that we are truly sorry. Over the last number of years we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas in a phased approach, if you were to revisit our property i assure you that you would find significant changes. We carefully consider many factors in setting our rates, including the need to continue to upgrade our product and service standards. Our goal continues to be that, we will provide the best accommodations in our rural area at a fair price.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Hawkesbury hotels

Vancouver Island, BC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We drove across Canada from Vancouver Island. and found that this hotel was very welcoming to our Two Weimaraners and treated us with the upmost respect and did the most to make our stay their as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2weimaraners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

While it was a little on the expensive side, we had a newly remodeled room and very comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful. There is a guest laundry on site. The pool and fitness center are a little dated, but very functional.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

When we stayed there, my room was in the basement, and we could not park down there due to renos. Thats ok. but everything else way not a good experience. The pipes were clanking in my room on arrival, and there was a banging noise , which I thought was the construction workers inthe room beside mine. I called front desk and they said there was no noise. I complained several times, and the banging continued into the night and into the morning. I was cranky about the whole experience. It was expensive for the quality of room,. The room directly beside mine had the door wide open and all the walls were exposed and there was a VERY cold wind blowing right through this room into the hallway and into my room. Renovating I understand. renting a room beside a completely gutted room, with no parking, a banging noise all night long, and garbage outside and dumpsters for a view, i dont understand.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie112078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay at our property. In a phased approach we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas, which includes, new windows and heating, air conditioning units. Weekdays are quite busy for our property and often need all rooms that are available, even during renovations. We always ask our contractors to work only from 8:00am until 5:00pm daily. Guests should have been notified of the renovations when the reservation was made as well as upon check - in. We rarely have problems with noise in the evening and again we apologize for this. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
78 reviews
66.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
66.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
630 reviews
66.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
14.3 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Property: Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Address: 717 Reeves St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury is conveniently located at the entry to Cape Breton Island, just 8 minutes from Cape Breton’s Canso Causeway on Reeves St Port Hawkesbury. This Canada Select and Nova Scotia Approved hotel serves as a great base for a memorable Cape Breton vacation featuring the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg and many other points of interest. Ask about our Cape Breton Treasure Hunt Touring Guide. Enjoy full service Taste of Nova Scotia approved dining at Miller's Cafe and Miller's Tap and Grill, open seven days a week. Accommodations include 73 air-conditioned smoke-free units (drive-up Queens, executive wing Kings; twin Doubles and one 2-bedroom suite); each features a 4-piece bath, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary secure wireless Internet, and complimentary self-parking. Cot, air mattresses and playpen are available upon advance request, additional charges may apply. Other amenities include a licensed, air-conditioned lounge, newly renovated heated indoor pool, outdoor patio, meeting/banquet rooms, laundry services, fitness centre. Pets are permitted, additional charges apply. We are proud to be the only full service 4 star accommodations in the area, and members of the Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing