We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you are looking for”
Review of Ryer Lobsters

Ryer Lobsters
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ryer's Retail store is situated on the shore of St. Margaret's Bay. Offering fresh Nova Scotia Lobsters, mussels and oysters. The setting is very rustic a warehouse with a few picnic tables. It is not a restaurant. We are open daily from 10:00am until 5:00pm
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is what you are looking for”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Ryer Lobsters in outside Peggy's Cove is the traditional lobster pound. Outdoor seating on a shaded deck over the water. Lobsters, oysters and everything in a casual setting. This is so much better than a formal restaurant with table clothes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank guynamebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryer R, Manager at Ryer Lobsters, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing this review. We always enjoy hearing back from our guests. It is our pleasure serving fresh Nova Scotia Lobster the way it should eaten, fresh cooked with just a little melted butter.

Thank You

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    35
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kutztown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“To get fresher seafood, you'll ned a rod & reel...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If they have the mussels, buy them. Best we ever had, incl. Belgium ( where they a national treasure), to Ireland, to up & down the eastern NA seaboard. Lobsters are lively & fresh, fresh. Consider buying a weathered lobster buoy, the $ goes directly to local commercial fisherman.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockycomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryer R, Manager at Ryer Lobsters, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing this review. We feel blessed living so close to the Atlantic Ocean and able to receive and prepare the freshest seafood available. It is always enjoyable hearing that others also enjoy Fresh Nova Scotia Lobster.

Thank you
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Ryers does lobster right! Pick your lobster and they will package it for you to prepare or if you are willing to wait 20 minutes they will prepare it for you.
We stopped in on the day Arthur came to town. After a stop at the Peggy's Cove Lighthouse to gawk at the waves we stopped by Ryers for 4 1.5lb lobsters and a couple dozen clams. While waiting the 20 minutes (worth the wait) we were treated to a viewing of the blue lobster! Impressive! We will be back.
Don't miss a trip to Ryers!

Helpful?
2 Thank familytravel19380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryer R, Manager at Ryer Lobsters, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for stopping by Ryer's Lobster Pound and taking the time to write this review. That was quite a day glad that even without power we were able to serve you great Nova Scotia Lobster. The Blue Lobster is amazing it is always fun showing her off. It will soon be time to release her back into the ocean.

Thank you
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing lobster at a great price”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

For 33 dollars we got 2 drinks and 2 1.5 lb lobsters made to order. We went around 1130 on a Sunday and it wasn't that busy but by the time we were done around 1215 it got busy. The food was amazing and service with a smile! Felt like I lived in the town myself. Fun lobster bib and experience. Will return back on my next trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryer R, Manager at Ryer Lobsters, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time writing this review. We enjoy serving fresh Nova Scotia Lobster to our customers at a reasonable price. It is always great when we read that people enjoyed their experience.

Thank
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nova Scotia lobster at it's best!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our visitors from a cruise ship had expressed a "need" for lobster during our day trip to Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Chester and Peggy's Cove. Ryer's operated by Dave Hoskins is the place to go for fresh cooked lobster - no frills - just the size of lobster you choose, cooked while you wait and served with all the melted butter you want. The lobster is cracked and ready to dig out the meat. Each lobster comes in a small plastic bin along with a plastic bib, knife, fork and pic and a roll of paper towel. Picnic tables available and a sink to wash up after is provided.
Nothing fancy but the price reflects this no frills approach to serving outstanding fresh cooked lobster.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfbb0541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryer R, Manager at Ryer Lobsters, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time writing about your experience eating Lobsters with your friends. We feel that the no frills approach is the way to go offering fresh Nova Scotia Lobster. The Lobster should be the star.
Thank you again and hope we will see you again

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryer Lobsters also viewed

Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
Peggy's Cove, Halifax Region
 
West Dover, Halifax Region
Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
 

Been to Ryer Lobsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing