We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Rhubarb Restaurant

Rhubarb Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you want fresh, locally-sourced food served in a casual atmosphere among friends, Rhubarb is it. Operators, Jim and Diane Buckle care a lot about their food and their customers and it shows. Together, they have crafted a tasty array of seasonal, value-priced dishes to tempt serious gourmands and comfort foodies alike presented with unsurpassable service. Whether you live in the neighborhood or are visiting from away, come enjoy the creative cookery at Rhubarb - minutes from Peggy's Cove, and less than an hour from Halifax.Rhubarb is partnered with and located directly adjacent to Oceanstone Seaside Resort.Visit our Art Gallery and Bakeshop.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We came in as a group of 8, we understood they were busy and we needed to be patient. Two other tables that came in after us received their food before us, when asked what happened to our food, they said they had to make more special. I understand that kitchens get backed up and that specials do get ordered but the waitress after she took our order barely spoke to us again, bread was delivered after we had been there for half hour other tables got right away. When our soup finally arrived it was delicious until we discovered a hair in the soup. We brought to the waitresses attention she said the soup would not be charged to us. When we asked for our bill it never came went up to the cash and the waitress forgot that it was us that had the hair in the soup. The food was excellent minus the hair but the service sucked, will not be back or recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We were so disappointed to receive this review. Your group seemed to be really enjoying your time together, travelling the province by motorcycle, and we are so sorry we did not add a great memory to your vacation. We apologize for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rhubarb makes a chowder that sets the standard high for others! Presentation was beautiful, and taste, terrific. Chowder is not too "creamy" -- just right. Wait staff were as pleasant and personable as could be, and unfailingly helpful from the moment we walked in. Even though we did not have a reservation, they were able to offer us a place in the bar, on a very busy night, where we had the chance that we would not otherwise have had to converse with other customers, and the staff, as well. We felt fortunate to be there -- and commend this experience to others! "Five stars" in our book!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed our chowder. We always enjoy having folks sit at the bar, it certainly is where the action is! please drop in and see us again if you find yourself in the area. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A foggy, windy, rainy, all round chilly day at Peggy's Cove but our visit to the Rhubarb Restaurant in Indian Harbour brightened the day. On a clear day there would have been a lovely view but who needs a view with warm, welcoming staff and great food. Homemade soups, delightful salads, artisan pizzas and much, much more. A wonderful choice and a great food experience!!! Can be found on Peggys Cove Road.

Thank DanaColdlakeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are so glad we were able to bring a little sunshine to your day! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come see us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was just lovely, I had the hash with eggs my husband the blueberry pancakes, they where great, full of flavor and a good size brunch. The staff is always laughing and enjoying themselves, it is contagious. Just a lovely spot to drop in and feel more than welcome. Don't miss them if you are out near Peggy's Cove.

Thank mamalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your brunch. It is always nice to hear that our guests feel welcome and enjoy their time with us. Thank you for your review and please come see us again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My experience at this fine establishment was great. The service was amazing and the waitresses were full of life and had great personalities. But on a side note the fish and chips were great...compliments to the chef. 2 nice sized pieces with great home fries. Necia was awesome and so were her co workers. I will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Fish & Chips. We do have a wonderful team here at rhubarb, everyone enjoys their job and it does make for a fun environment. Come see us again when you are in Indian Harbour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb Restaurant also viewed

Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
West Dover, Halifax Region
 
Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
Peggy's Cove, Halifax Region
 
Hacketts Cove, Halifax Region
Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
 

Been to Rhubarb Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing