We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh tasty food + stunning views”
Review of Rhubarb Restaurant

Rhubarb Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you want fresh, locally-sourced food served in a casual atmosphere among friends, Rhubarb is it. Operators, Jim and Diane Buckle care a lot about their food and their customers and it shows. Together, they have crafted a tasty array of seasonal, value-priced dishes to tempt serious gourmands and comfort foodies alike presented with unsurpassable service. Whether you live in the neighborhood or are visiting from away, come enjoy the creative cookery at Rhubarb - minutes from Peggy's Cove, and less than an hour from Halifax.Rhubarb is partnered with and located directly adjacent to Oceanstone Seaside Resort.Visit our Art Gallery and Bakeshop.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our second visit having stumbled upon it last year after visiting Peggy's cove. This year we skipped the cove and drove from Halifax just for the fish and chips and the ambience. My husband opted for the fish cake special and I forced him to share as they were so tasty. Teen daughter raved about the pizza and grandparents enjoyed the lobster roll and chowder. Lemon and blueberry pound cake for desert was lovely. We had friendly and helpful service and loved sitting on the outside patio while enjoying our food and the views and the art work. We'll be back at christmas!

Thank travelwithpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review1 How fun to hear this was your second trip and we certainly look forward to seeing you at Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 431 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our very last day in Nova Scotia we drove the lighthouse trail to Peggy's Cove. We came across Rhubarb Restaurant and Oceanstone Resort without knowing about them. The restaurant is so inviting looking that we turned around and came back to eat. We were very glad that we did. We sat on the back balcony on a stunningly beautiful day and just relaxed after the frenzied tourist rush at Peggy's Cove. The restaurant was quite busy but the servers were attentive and friendly. The food was worth the wait because it was delicious. While waiting I walked around the grounds to take some pictures and found the bakery under the balcony. I bought a pecan bar and some cookies for later in the afternoon. They were also very good. When you plan a trip to Peggy's Cove you should include a meal at Rhubarb's Restaurant on your itinerary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gulfcoastbreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time here at Rhubarb. View, service, food, sweets, we got it all right! Nice to hear, that's our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped in for supper, on a whim, and it was awesome. I had the pizza special of chicken, mango and goat cheese, and it was the best pizza I ever had. The biscuits were incredible, nothing beats homemade!! Service was great, very friendly staff, would highly recommend this to anyone in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOLEEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal, that certainly was a great pizza! Our buttermilk biscuits are wonderful and always available to take home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Let me start by saying the fish and chips were arguably the best I've ever had, and the food in general was great (except for old, soggy coleslaw). Service was another story though! We waited a good 5 minutes before we were even acknowledged, and were seated for a long wait without even water! Waitress did not introduce herself, did not refill our waters, and generally lacked service graces. I think this place would be better off as a fish and chips truck

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leggsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Fish & Chips. It is very disappointing to hear your service was not top notch. We pride ourselves on our customer service, we strive to have each guest feel welcome and cared for, as though you were visiting friends. We are so sorry this was not your experience. If you find yourself in this part of the world again, please stop in so we can make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We decided to stop for food before getting to Peggy's Cove and was pleasantly surprised by Rhubard. The people were nice, food was very fresh and taste was excellent. Try the pizza. Also, don't miss the bakery in the basement!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbucklerhubarb, Owner at Rhubarb Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at rhubarb. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Nova Scotia and hopefully you will have a chance to return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarb Restaurant also viewed

Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
Peggy's Cove, Halifax Region
 
West Dover, Halifax Region
Indian Harbour, Halifax Region
 

Been to Rhubarb Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing