We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl in Indian harbour”
Review of Oceanstone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pearl in Indian harbour”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Were extremely delighted with our stay at the Oceanstone Inn. From the friendly staff to the spacious relaxing rooms. Beautiful setting on the waterfront. Only minutes from Peggy's Cove and very close to numerous restaurants.

Highly recommmended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    37
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
80
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Oceanstone is set right on the waterfront with about a thirty second walk from the front desk to the waters edge, which is a rocky shoreline that invites walking along the rocks, watching the sun set, or just listening to the lapping of the waves. The inn is a series of small buildings that range from one to 4 or 5 sleeping rooms per building. The setting provides a sense of a small community, and even though the parking lot was full, we did not encounter other guests except some quick passes in the hall. We were in the main building, which has several rooms. Ours was small but very comfortable and quite clean. Breakfast was provided as a tray of muffins, cheese, jams, etc to have with your in-room coffee maker, so while it was good and sufficient, it is not the reason to stay at the Oceanstone. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. This is a perfect location for visitors to Peggys Cove, or if you have a large family reunion and can rent several of the individual buildings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Since my husband and I were passing through for one night, we opted for an Inn room. The room was a bit cramped but very pleasant. Windows on two sides provided great air flow - essential because there is no air conditioning, and it was quite warm during the day. Decor is a shabby French Country, colorful and homey.
There are really no significant ocean views from the Inn, but it is surrounded by trees, grass, and flowers. You are free to sit in various locations on the grounds that have nice views of flowers or ocean. However, you don't pay for an ocean view, so that's fine.
Somehow, I had missed the fact that a breakfast basket was provided with the room, so that was a very nice surprise. We enjoyed it outdoors at a table with a view of the ocean and landscaped grounds. It contained juice, bottled water, fruit, cheese, croissants, muffins, and jam. Coffee and tea making supplies are provided.
There is a small "kitchen" area in the inn that provides ice, a small refrigerator for your juice and coffee cream, filtered water, a toaster, plastic plates and utensils, more coffee and tea, irons and ironing boards, and I believe, a microwave. Since the breakfast basket is provided upon check-in, these facilities are nice to have the next morning.
The price was quite low compared to other places we had stayed, and we felt we got a great experience at a good value. My husband loved the place, and he rarely mentions liking any hotel, motel, or inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My fiancé and I wanted to "preview" this beautiful, intimate place by the ocean as we chose to be married there next summer. We were so pleased with the amazing scenery, the well kept and romantic room and the friendliness of the staff. Our highlight was that we had the absolute pleasure of dining in their newly opened Oceanstone Cafe which provided us with the most delicious, decadent food I have ever experienced (and we have eaten at many fine dining places). Upon talking with the chef, it was revealed that much of the produce is grown right on the property and all seafood and meat is locally attained. I would highly recommend this gorgeous retreat for anyone looking to escape for any reason.

Room Tip: You must book well in advance as often all the rooms and cottages are reserved throughout the the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenSeeker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We chose Oceanstone because of the scenic route... and so far away but so close to home. We had perfect weather but also the sweetest little cottage on the ocean that was clean and stocked with everything we needed even for long stays... dishes, playing cards, they really thought of it all. The smell of the ocean and the slow pace we just can't wait to go back! Perfect for couples and children. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulfislandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erniemac, Owner at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thanks a bunch for this.
When one tries hard to create a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward, it is heartwarming to hear an expression of appreciation like this one. -RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgay, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We arrived at Oceanstone quite late in the evening, but was still welcomed warmly. We stayed in the top room of a green building.
The room has very simple decor, but was comfortable and clean. It had a small sitting area, two beds, seperated by french doors, and a bathroom with a door (a bit weird) going outside onto a patio.
The location was amazing! It is write on the water front, and very nice if you like beachcombing. We went down on the rocks and had lots of fun exploring the bay. You can see Peggy's Cove on a clear day, giving this place a wonderful and quaint vibe.
I would recommend this hotel to friends because of it's beautiful location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We went as guests for a wedding at Oceanstone Inn and Cottages and stayed for 2 nights. I think it is possibly the most romantic setting for a wedding, honeymoon or anniversary. It is a little on the side of pricey but for all that we had during our stay, it was worth it in the end.

The grounds are very well maintained, the staff are pleasant and helpful and the views of the ocean, especially the sunsets, are indescribably beautiful. The cottage that we stayed in (The Pines) was a perfect gem and as soon as we walked in, it felt like coming home. One look at the beds and you just knew that they would be comfortable!

The cottage's kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and cookware and organic Fair Trade coffee was provided (there is grocery shopping nearby). Housekeeping does come in daily to exchage towels, empty garbage, compost and recycling bins and to do a quick tidying up (they'll pull the blankets back up on the bed and wipe down the bathroom sink and kitchen counter if you've left crumbs). I really appreciated that they are very environmentally concious and that they avoid using harsh cleaners when at all possible.

The wedding was beautiful and the setting (oceanside) was spectacular. Oceanstone's onsite coordinator did a seemingly great job communicating the couple's wishes with the rest of the staff. The meals prepared by the Rhubarb Grill (barbecue the day before the wedding, the wedding supper and the midnight luncheon) were elegant and delicious (even the pizza was "gourmet"!).

Oceanstone's staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect, and it was. We have some very happy memories of our stay here.

NOTE: For those wishing to do some sightseeing while in the area, Peggy's Cove is less than 10 minutes away and the Swiss Air Memorial is also worth the stop. There are several art galleries in the area that showcase and sell art made by local artists. We stopped at a few of the roadside shops and even bought a handmade hammock chair. (The owner even makes his own rope! He's very knowledgeable and friendly and offered us driving tips and shortcuts as we were leaving the area when we stopped in).

All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberta-Travel-Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,913 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
258 reviews
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanstone Resort

Property: Oceanstone Resort
Address: 8650 Peggys Cove Rd, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4, Canada (Formerly Oceanstone Inn & Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Indian Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanstone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, comfortable and stunningly beautiful, Oceanstone provides a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward. Weddings are our specialty, along with corporate retreats and getaways. Close to Halifax, Peggy's Cove and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanstone Inn And Cottages
Oceanstone Inn & Cottages Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing