We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean front beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanstone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanstone Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ocean front beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My partner and I needed a couple of days out of the city,and we'd heard wonderful things about Oceanstone Inn, so we booked in for an overnight stay.
The property is surrounded by lovely old evergreen trees, natural rocks, a bubbling stream, well placed paths and of course, the ocean.
Our building housed 5 flats, but privacy was perfect and very quiet.We stayed in the Hollyhock suite, which was an open concept flat with lots of windows,old pine beams, rustic pine furniture and a beautiful hardwood floor.Modern as well as rustic, with a balcony and a stunning view of the ocean.
The hot tub was well placed in a cozy corner in front of a window, and provided a relaxing soak after a day of hiking at Pollys Cove-we certainly appreciated the wonderful Terry bath robes! The cove is located a few kilometers to the east and is a part of the Coastal Barrens-we hiked over huge granite rocks guided by a well marked trail just above the ocean-definitely worth experiencing.Bring a camera
Dinner at Rhubarb Cafe' topped off a perfect day, and I was very pleased with the gluten free items on the menu.
In the morning, after a great sleep in the wonderfully comfortable bed, coffee in the kitchen area, we had a walk around the grounds and along the beach front.
At this time of year when flowers are not in bloom and trees are bare,we still enjoyed the beautiful natural surroundings.
Staff were excellent and attentive. We can't wait until we return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJCollins4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    35
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
72
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coldbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

After our wonderful stay at Oceanstone, everyone in my family has agreed we will be making it an annual event. My parents (in their eighties), my children (in their twenties) and my six year old grandson all had a wonderful stay. Everything was absolutely perfect. We felt valued and pampered.
Not only are we making this an annual family gathering place, I am looking forward to spending time there with friends.
I cannot thank Lizzie and staff enough for making our stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The Captain's House is wonderful for family gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Amazing place!! I have driven by this place so many times and never even knew it existed. From the time we arrived there we were in love. We wanted a cottage away from the city with a wood stove (not easy to find in NS) and what we found was so much more! We walked into the Grey Owl and it was beyond our expectations! The wood stove kept us warm all night, the sound of the waves added that romantic touch to our supper which my husband made for me! When I saw the pictures online I thought it was close to the beach but it is literally right on the beach. PERFECT! The layout of the cottage is one I never would of thought of but it works so well and it is so cozy. We will definitely be back and I am already telling people to go there and we just got home! Thanks for making our first anniversary so memorable!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic stay I would recommend the Grey Owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We wanted to go away for a romantic weekend as we were living apart at the time due to work. Imagine my surprise when I was proposed to at sunrise!! It was amazing and wonderful and a very lovely spot for it to happen. The 'cabins' are really lovely and the staff were amazing. Being so close to the beach and having such privacy and peace was greatly appreciated.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzie m, Owner at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Congratulations ! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great visit and a wonderful surprise of the engagement ! We hope to see you back sometime to celebrate.

Thanks again for the wonderful note and Congrats !

Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Oceanstone in the Grey owl cottage. We wanted a relaxing,romantic weekend and we got much more.
The cottage is warm and inviting with personal touches throughout. Whimsical little nautical touches everywhere. It contains everything you need:dishes,cutlery,pots and pans,coffee maker,coffee,creamers,iron,ironing board,fan,wood for the woodstove,matches,etc. It has electric heat,but we made fires for the ambiance.
The bed is the most comfortable I have slept in, in a long time. The shower is strong and has lots of hot water.
The view is beyond amazing! The ocean is right out your back door,steps from the deck,with lots of beautiful sand. We spent most of our time walking the beach and watching the fishermen pull in and set their lobster traps. You can lie in bed and just soak up the amazing views. The sunset was to die for! There are outdoor fire pits and chairs for the summer.
The entire propery is magical with lights and sparkling lights in the trees.
We had a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us-what a nice touch! Perfect spot to unwind and have a woderful weekend! We will be back!

Room Tip: Grey owl is the cottage usually chosen for honeymoons or in our case...a romantic weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I enjoyed Oceanstone for the fresh air and surf sounds that aid one to sleep, the greenery and cute paths. The unit was old fashioned with wide plank floors ( seemed to be laminate that looked very antique and very suitable), white painted walls and bedframe, quite Country, homey. The curtains do not fill out enough, so I felt the sides of the curtains exposed one putting on pajamas to anyone unlucky enough to pass by the deck. Particularly true of the window in the door!

I enjoyed the deck each unit gets, with some Adirondack chairs and a table, climbing raspberries and little plants. Some gorgeous mornings there. A deep bubbling tub was luscious before bed.

The unit had a kitchen that was extremely well appointed with expensive!! pots and utensils. And coffee and sugar and strainers etc etc. very handy. Loved the wooden fish on the wall. silly fish. A Nova Scotia folk art that fit there perfectly.

The food was expensive but fairly interesting. There were few choices, which is hard when you have food sensitivities. The cutlery was weird and very unbalanced and would hardly stay in my hand, too avante garde to be enjoyable or practical. The napkins are scented strongly with dryer sheet chemical, which is not appetizing and quite unnecessary. The view from the restaurant is gorgeous.

The staff at the front are all sweet and provided me with extra help on quite a few things. The restaurant staff needs work, ignoring me when there were all of four other customers there, giving me mistaken information about the tip being included (it was not, so I stiffed the subsequent servers accidentally), not checking on my needs.

I was quite content there but it is not five stars. A pretty cute four stars. The price was high for that, even so. The lawn and beach are tiny and I could get a bit stir-crazy if it were a longer trip. No fitness centre, bikes to rent, no pool. Four days was just right, for reading, listening to surf, hitting Peggys Cove, toodling up and down the coastline, which has a LOT going for it!. The location is close to town, very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzie m, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi there
I am so glad that you enjoyed the Hollyhock suite and were able to listen to the surf !

We are actually looking into changing the cutlery at the restaurant. We have also introduced a new winter menu which is delicious - let me know if you are in the area again i'd love for you to try the chili or the dragon breath french onion soup.

Hope to see you out again soon - we do have lots of great ideas for Phase two of our renovations, and the pool, spa/ fitness centre are for sure on the plan at some point soon.

Thanks again for visiting and your comments - hope to see you soon

Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at Oceanstone at the end of August and we could not be happier about the facility and the service. Everything was perfect right down to the minor details. We had multiple guests come up to us and thank us for choosing this resort for our wedding!

The wedding coordinator Lizzie is so wonderful and was there to help with anything we asked. She even helped us put out our center pieces and set up the reception area the day before the wedding. The day of the wedding she kept popping in to visit us girls while we were getting ready and offering to help. During the wedding one of our guests had a small child with him and Lizzie noticed that he had to leave during the meal to put her to sleep. Lizzie had his meal sent to his room for him and saved his dessert for when he came back to the dinner. That is just one example of the care and attention that the staff put towards the guests.

The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. They have just done an upgrade and the main lodge (where our reception was) is so beautiful and elegant that we hardly had to put any decorations out. The cottages that we stayed in are so wonderful and I've never slept in a more comfortable bed. I wanted to take the comforter home with me!
There are fire pits outside the cottages and the resort supplies the firewood. We were lucky enough that a large portion of our guests were able to stay at the resort with us for a few nights and we were able to have bonfires on the beach with them. The staff also let us use the common area outside to have a lobster boil the day after the wedding. It was so nice to be able to have everyone together like that and not crammed in our cottage.

I am so thankful that we found this resort for our wedding and we can't wait to go back for our first anniversary!

Room Tip: The cottages are worth the money! Steps from the ocean and so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzie m, Owner at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi there

Thanks so much for the amazing comments and story ! It was so wonderful to get to know the two of you and meet your family and friends. I just loved it .... looking forward to keeping in touch

Chat soon and thank you again
Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanstone Resort

Property: Oceanstone Resort
Address: 8650 Peggys Cove Rd, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4, Canada (Formerly Oceanstone Inn & Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Indian Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanstone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, comfortable and stunningly beautiful, Oceanstone provides a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward. Weddings are our specialty, along with corporate retreats and getaways. Close to Halifax, Peggy's Cove and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanstone Inn & Cottages Hotel Nova Scotia
Oceanstone Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing