We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifty Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifty Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Clifty Cove for one night on our trip through Nova Scotia and found it to be very inviting. The owners were exceptionally friendly & we appreciated their welcoming our golden retriever. Absolutely gorgeous view from our window and around the back of the motel there were chairs and a little fire pit set up so you could sit and enjoy the sound of the waves crashing in along the shore and the beautiful view. The cottage itself was extremely clean, quiet and complete with fridge, microwave & coffee pot. The one thing I did miss was an outlet in the bathroom for my curling iron & hairdryer but made do with another socket in the main living area....no big deal! All in all, we would definitely recommend this place to any of our friends and wish the owners well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
56
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed Aug 2nd 2013 for 1 night - it was a great place - very clean and owners are exceptionally friendly - opened the windows and slept like little kids in the fresh air .. all you can hear is the water and the birds in the morning - will be venturing back on our next visit out east.
Our room had a perfect view of the cove and enjoyed our wine right on the rocks outside - a great place to stay and really relax - extremely welcoming owners !! thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Clifty Cove Motel while in Indian Harbor.
The Motel room was very clean and had a great view out the back window which you can leave open to hear the waves right outside the room.
The owners were very friendly accommodating and helpful!
We would recommend this motel and appreciate the hospitality we received!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelebelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed the Clifty Cove one night on our East Coast vacation. The owners were extremely kind and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed the little red campfire in a can that the owner set up for us despite the rain. Thank you so much!! The rooms were super clean, beds were comfy and the view is fantastic. Very close to Peggy's Cove and the memorial site for Swiss Air flight 111. We wish we'd had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cokey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here 32 years ago with my parents when I was 12. I loved it then and I loved it there now. Nice, clean room. Nice view The owners were friendly and helpful. I loved talking to them. They were very helpful even before my arrival making suggestions and answering questions by phone and email. Enjoyed talking them while I was there. I loved my room and the view. Loved being close to Peggy's Cove and the lighthouse which was just down the road. I wish I could have stayed longer especially since the sun didn't make an appearance until the day I was checking out. I will be back again and I hope next time mother nature decides to be a bit more kind.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShineRM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I had the privilege of staying at the Clifty Cove last night and wish I had stayed longer! My mom and I were in Nova Scotia on vacation and decided to explore what was west of Halifax. We were lucky enough to stumble on the Clifty Cove. The owners were incredibly kind and suggested a great restaurant up the road for us. The motel itself is definitely older but the rooms have been beautifully updated. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms completely modern. We were able to fall asleep listening to the waves, it was amazing. They also have a spot behind the motel where you can sit and enjoy the views. The price was also very reasonable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellybakeswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Phenomenal view, clean room, exceptionally friendly managers. Exceptional price as well. Would definitely return. Although older vintage hotel, rooms were updated. Great location & proximity to Peggy's Cove. Real East Coast Charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
15.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
15.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
20.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.7 mi away
Big Lake Motel
Big Lake Motel
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Cove Motel

Property: Clifty Cove Motel
Address: 8444 Peggys Cove Rd | Peggy's Cove Area, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifty Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clifty Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifty Cove Hotel Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing