We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clifty Cove Motel”
Review of Clifty Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifty Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clifty Cove Motel”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you are always closeted in warm clothing to offset the cold in Canada, then it is prudent to escape to a sea side holiday. The Clifty Cove Motel in Halifax is just the place with glorious views of the sea from your rooms. Looking out from your hotel window the Atlantic Ocean is there in all its majesty only for you. Not just the view but also the sounds of the sea and the sea breeze invigorate you. The motel is so located that you could easily do day trips to Bridgewater, Lunenburg or Halifax. The motel is squeaky clean perhaps due to the involvement of the enlightened and friendly owners who go out of the way to make you comfortable. The food is decent and the service excellent. For a good and comfortable stay with basic amenities the hotel is priced just right and you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrRussellOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    35
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
65
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This motel is literally right next to the ocean. Fabulous view from your room. Set on a lovely cove very near Peggy's Cove. Rooms were immaculately clean. It is not a fancy place but has everything you need and furniture and fittings all very tidy. Owners very friendly and helpful. Going to sleep with the sound of the ocean and distant fog horn was very nice indeed. We used this motel as a base to explore the area. Easy day trip to Lunenburg, etc. I would have liked to stay longer, and hopefully will return one day. A stunning part of Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bacnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We drove from ontario in one day so we were running very late for check in (it was like 10:30 p.m!!) called ahead and they said no problem. They were very kind when we got there despite us being so late. Room was great., super clean and well cared for. And we had our dog with us as well which was not a problem. Amazing views from behind the motel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bend80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place isn't far from Peggy's Cove. A little bit of updating on the rooms and this would be a top notch motel. The rooms are very clean and spacious. They got the views,location and the right friendly service.Not to far from places to eat or catch something of the wharf and BBQ it. We would stop here again and maybe stay a little longer even for just the sunset over the ocean.When there check out the Rhubarb restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderinfarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Coming from the seaside in Australia, and after living in Alberta for 7 months, my husband and I were itching to see the sea again on our holiday in Nova Scotia. At this motel, we just had to look out the window to revel at the sight and hear the sounds of the sea to be reminded of home. Clean, well-priced and close enough to drive to either Halifax or Lunenburg for day trips, we were so pleased we made this our place of stay when visiting the area. Friendly helpful owners helped add to the enjoyment of this gem by the sea.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms had a sea view - but just ask perhaps when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Attended a wedding in the area, and although it was only half an hour away from home we decided to make an extended weekend out of it. So instead of driving back home after the wedding we decided to book this motel for two nights. Wow, we were pleasantly surprised to find this gem in our own backyard. The owners are super friendly and very accommodating to your needs. Although it was a very basic motel it was very comfortable and had everything that we required and super clean, but to have the ocean at your window was definitely the "seller" for me. Hurried back from a trip to Bridgewater just so that I could see the sunset on the ocean, a sight that never gets old:) Loved staying here and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55karen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Our first stop in Nova Scotia was the Clifty Cove Motel. The owner was very helpful in directing us to a place to eat. The room was clean and roomy. Not sure why there was an electrical outlet at the ceiling. The Ocean front view was lovely especially at night when we could see the lighthouse lights flashing. This location was especially convenient to Peggy's Cove.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
15.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
15.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
113 reviews
20.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Chateau Bedford
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
314 reviews
20.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Cove Motel

Property: Clifty Cove Motel
Address: 8444 Peggys Cove Rd | Peggy's Cove Area, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifty Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifty Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifty Cove Hotel Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing