We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good stay”
Review of Ash Grove Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barry's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ash Grove Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Had a good stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I was in the area for work and spent the night at the Ash Grove Inn , check in was fast and easy , took about 3 or 4 mins . I stayed in what they refer to as a standard room , it was a standard room like most places , 2 queen size beds , tv , larger than normal bar fridge ( which was nice ) , air conditioning , 2 chairs to sit in and read the local newspaper .... ect ect .

The room was clean , the only problem I could really comment on is the toilet had a water leak behind it and rather than fix it , it had some small towels on the floor behind the toilet to soak up the water , not sure how long it had been like that , but it was no big deal and by no means was it a bad leak , seemed to be just a slow leak . Another thing that bugged me was there was no coffee machine in the room , and as a early riser , it would have been nice to have a cup of coffee and watch the sun come up , because the area is beautiful , quite and really peaceful , and the motel over looks a nice lake .

The restaurant doesn't open till 730 am , this is another downer for me , because I need to head out pretty early for work and would have liked to eaten a bit earlier , so I could get my work day underway .

The food i had for breakfast was the hungry mans breakfast , 3 eggs , toast , hashbrowns , sausage , ham and bacon , it was good , cant complain .

All in all , I would recommend staying here , the price is right , service is great and it is a good place to stay .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gelaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
30
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Overnightwd here after a day at Algonquin Park. Very cozy, comfortable, and clean. Really liked the chairs and tables in front of each unit, it made visiting with our "neighbors" a pleasurable experience.

Only complaint (minor) is that the A/C unit petered out by morning. Luckily it wasn't too hot when we were there.

Great location across from the lake, nice to sit out and watch the sunset. Location is about a mile out of town, far enough to. be away from the noise, but close enough to easily run errands. There's a beach nearby to take the kids to. WiFi signal is strong.

The owners seem to take a lot of pride in the upkeep, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I've been to Ash Grove a few times now and I still like it, which is good.

They don't seem to use an air freshener, which is good.

For breakfast I always have the breakfast wrap with home fries and a slice of ham for $9.50 because it's good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for several days in one of the luxury suites in the summer. The unit was very clean and comfortable with a large jacuzzi tub and separate shower in the bath room. The area is pretty and quite nice to walk/hike in the daytime and evening. You can swim and fish in the lake. The town is nearby and has some interesting stores. We had taken the romance package which provided for 2 meals a day in the restaurant that is part of the inn and a bottle of wine each night.

There is a good variety of items for breakfast and dinner; and the food is fresh, properly prepared, flavourful and plentiful. I would pass on the bottles of wine....although the brands are not cheap at the LCBO, they just are not my favourite types.

It is a quiet setting with friendly and helpful staff. Having travelled extensively in Eastern Ontario it clearly is a Jewel in the Valley. We will stay there again.....book early as the rooms go quickly.
Romance Package is a solid value....good accommodation with excellent food service.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are reasonably roomy, inexpensive but clean. Go for the suites...particularly the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huronhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice now and both times were perfect. I stayed in the Luxury Suite both times, this suite has large bathroom with jetted tub and separate shower, bedroom and living area with 3 sided fireplace, which keeps room nice and toasty - plus mini fridge and microwave. We were here in the winter both times, and loved that the snowmobile trails were right there to make everything even easier. The restaurant was the best part though, the servers were absolutely amazing and the food to die for. Have had the steak, chicken and seafood and all were perfect. I do HIGHLY recommend Deep Fried Cheese Curds as your appetizer though, only place I know where you can find them and they are as good as they sound. Had breakfast as well both mornings and it is just as good as dinner!
I honestly couldn't recommend a better place to stay or to eat if you are just passing by. We will definitely be back again next year!

Room Tip: Any of the Luxury or Kitchen Suites are well worth your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I booked the Ashgrove Inn for a snowmobile getaway mid week for three nights. Our package included a 'luxury suite' with breakfast and dinner. Both meals include anything on the menu.
The room was very spacious with lovely vaulted ceilings, a comfy queen bed, gas fireplace, table and chairs and a pullout couch. In the large bathroom is a fiberglass shower stall and a large jacuzzi tub. Extras included a microwave, fridge, full size coffee maker, flat screen tv, two closet spaces and a celing fan.
I did not find the decor outdated. The style is country inn, not chic city hotel. Perhaps housekeeping was a bit off that week, toothpaste on the mirror and a bit of bathtub ring lasted the whole time we were there. The room could really use a comfy chair instead of the office furniture. We found the room to be very warm.
The restaurant we found amazing, - down home country cooking. The ladies that work there are all smiling and very welcoming.
We have stayed in the nearby town of Bancroft in a chain motel and it does not even compare. We will be back to the Ashgove!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Decor a bit outdated but the CLEANEST room I've ever stayed in! There was not a speck of dust or a single water spot in the bathroom. Very larrge rooms. Location awesome. We were ther over Canada Day long weekend, fire works on the lake. We sat on the motel lawn to watch them... Perfect non obstructed view. Definatel be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justyna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
0.5 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
5.0 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#6 of 8 in Barry's Bay
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Inn

Property: Ash Grove Inn
Address: 42524 Combermere Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Hotel Barry`s Bay
Ash Grove Inn Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing