We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spectacle Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spectacle Lake Lodge
MALLORYTOWN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved our stay in the charming, spotless cottage at the edge of beautiful Spectacle Lake. The fall colours were at their height, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting in which to enjoy them. Many thanks to Sharon for her kindness in upgrading us to a cottage!
We appreciate Sharon and Lisa's warm welcome and all they did to make our stay comfortable, down to the tasty packed lunches to take on our trip to Algonquin Park.
Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    8
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Last June, we had made a reservation for 2 people and had asked for 2 beds but were told there were non availlable. That was disappointing,but we decided that as we were there for a wedding we would make do.
Upon arrival we waited at the empty desk for 5 minutes for someone, and then went in search of someone to help us. We found a young woman who indicated that she was busy but would serve us.
When asked how much the room was, as the rates were not posted on the web site or at at the desk, she said "$224.00 MAM!" throughout the whole conversation she had with us she sounded annoyed at being asked any questions about the whole transaction. She didn't know where we could park the car, or where our room was!!! and the whole time she would finish each answer with a loud "MAM"
In the end we discovered the next day that she had overquoted the price of the room by over $100.00. Needless to say, she didn't welcome us or wish us a pleasant stay.
The room itself was small, there was no phone, no radio (how to get a wake-up call?), no closet for our clothes, no tub just a small shower, the window was in the door and it didn't stay open, it needed to be propped open.
There was nothing to put our luggage on and really no where to put it, a small mirror in the washroom only, and one chair to sit on, no desk and light switches all over the room.
We both have been in motels, and hotels which cost less and offer more, ie. courtesy shampoo, etc. continental breakfasts, the restaurant didn't even offer anything but a fixed fee Sunday brunch.
For this we paid $142.00. the woman at the desk when we left was very pleasant and friendly, but this was too little and too late.

Room Tip: go somewhere else to stay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeaAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are local cottagers who have frequented Spectacle Lake restaurant at least 2 times per summer for years (usually for a birthday celebration). We mostly come for the view/atmosphere, as there are a few other places around where the food - in my opinion - is better. Nevertheless we're not sure if we'll be back.

On our most recent visit, the service was terrible. It appeared busy when we arrived but we were seated promptly as we had made reservations. We waited at least 15 min before the waitress came and even took our order. We proceeded to order wine, but the waitress just shook her head and said 'uh, no sorry... Our liquor license expired so no wine'. I was surprised as we called twice to make out reservation then change the time. It would have been a nice courtesy - and only taken a fee seconds - to inform us that they were not licensed and we were welcome to bring our own! So disappointing as this was a birthday celebration....

Then we waited way over 1 hr for our food to come, even after we asked after the first half hour. The waitress then said 'soon', but it wasn't soon, and the final kicker was when the food came there was absolutely no apology: in fact she seemed annoyed with US!
If we had felt that there was more care taken - the manager came by to apologize, maybe a free dessert offered for example - it would have made up for the long wait. But nothing....

We probably won't be back.

Ps. Don't order the seafood platter...not worth the $30 for 3 shrimp, one scallop and 2 very small rubbery lobster tails!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank bbay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stopped in this past Saturday on the bike for a nights stay in a cabin. We live not that far from Barrys' Bay and thought we would take our time on the bike and spend the night even though we could have easily went back home in the same day. SO GLAD WE DID! Very hospitable people working here, very friendly and accommodating to say the least. The cabin was very cute and clean, the AC was not on when we arrived however that is not a problem with me knowing the cost of hydro these days. With in 10 minutes the place was comfortable. Beds were comfortable and had enough amenities for a one night stay. Cabin # 10 is a single room however they have 2 or 3 other cabins that have kitchens for longer stays. Right on the edge of the lake with clean stone pathways to and from the main lodge, sold us wood at 10:30 at night without an issue whatsoever. they are so welcoming and hope to do their best for your stay. Not much more you can ask for. Dinner was busy and took awhile but they told us that as soon as we sat down and we were in no rush at all. It was the busiest night of the summer so far with 60 plus people in for dinner. Sort of overwhelming I would say. Meal was good. We will return but probably not on the Harley this time but with our 4 wheelers to check out the back country that surrounds this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice as they are on the edge of the lake with no traffic between your cabin and the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Cabin was clean with all essentials needed. Sharon was unbelievably hospitable and accommodating ... she even packed us a to go breakfast and coffee since we left early. Food was very good quality and reasonable. Very relaxing place. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julierofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had a wonderful couple's experience for a snowmobiling weekend. Discovered the location while stopping for lunch the previous year. We are returning this summer.
The rooms in the lodge are very comfortable. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel welcome.
As for the food, the restaurant is to DIE for! I am French from France, and food is a very important part of my everyday living. The chef has incredible imagination to try new dishes, flavors, and presentation. Kudos to everyone there.
Can't wait to see the lodge in summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISABELLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst Shores, On
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stopped in for breakfast on Thursday. The classiest, best breakfast we have eaten in Ontario. Beautiful presentation and great food. The french toast with real maple syrup is a must try. Clean, clean clean everywhere. Good service and a great view, on a very cold winter day.
The washroom waste paper containers are a real novelty.
They are open for Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F1_Ed_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
8.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
9.5 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
24.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#5 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spectacle Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spectacle Lake Lodge

Property: Spectacle Lake Lodge
Address: 202 Spectacle Lake Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spectacle Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spectacle Lake Lodge! Our lodge has 9 cottages, 5 lodge rooms, 140 occupancy gourmet restaurant, bar and fireside lounge, beach, terrace conference center, dock, hot tub and trails. All accommodations have A/C, fully winterized, potable tap water, flat panel TVs with 120+ channels and most have fireplaces. We LOVE hosting families, ATVers, snowmobilers, poker-runs, weddings, business retreats and travelers of all descriptions. We are family-owned and operated and you will not find a higher level of service and care. WiFi is available in the lounge. Take care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spectacle Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectacle Lake Hotel Barry`s Bay
Spectacle Lake Lodge Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing