We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, service and facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, service and facilities.”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We were a group of eight snowmobilers on our way around Algonquin Park. Some of us had stayed at Spectacle Lake years previously and remembered it fondly. Thankfully I had booked the rooms about a month earlier, because they had lots of demand for them. Thankfully, though they couldn't contact me despite many attempts, they held them for us, knowing they had my credit card should we not show up.

Upon our arrival we had some mechanical problems that needed repairing in order to continue the next day. Norm graciously connected us with a local repair shop, loaned us some tools and then drove us into town to drop off the parts before closing, so that they could repair them first thing in the morning. It would have taken us a couple of hours to ride the sleds into town and back. Instead we were able to all enjoy a great meal together and get a good night's rest. The next morning after getting breakfast for all the guests, Norm once again took us to town to pickup the repaired parts.

The cottages we stayed in were clean, neat, warm and comfy. The water was good temperature and taste-wise. We'll be back again if we're in the area. Thanks Norm and Lesley,
M.Knecht, Brampton ON

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    8
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Our groupf 8 snowmobilers stayed at the lodge on Feb. 24/11 and were very well looked after. Rooms were great and the food and service wonderful. As well, the proprieter was so very accommodating and drove 2 of us into Barrys Bay to get repairs and parts and then drove us back again the next morning to pick up our needs. We will definitely be back again. Bernie Ennis

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

After an excruciatingly long day of a snowmobile tour in terrible conditions and practically out of gas, we pulled into Spectacle Lake Lodge at 10pm still not at our final destination for the night The owners welcomed us in despite being closed for the night and let us warm up as we were rather cold and slightly miserable. They made us wonderful hot chocolate and phenomenal chicken wings as we sat by the fire and dried our mittens and socks. Once warmed up, we went on our way rejuvenated by our brief stay.
Their kindness and generosity was the highlight of our long-weekend trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penetang
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I want you to know how impressed my husband and I were with the extensive choice and quality of food on your Meal Plan Menu! Bravo
Kim and Dave Parker

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The service at Spectacle Lake Lodge is top notch! The lodge rooms are newly renovated and they were beautiful, comfortable, and intimate. The staff is super friendly and the owners are caring, quality individuals. We've visited the lodge in the summer and winter, stayed in both the cottages and lodge rooms, with and without kids - all experiences were equally enjoyable. We were fortunate enough to experience the New Year's festivities at the lodge this past visit - the food was fantastic, the atmosphere was fun, and the company was stellar. Five stars!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My cousin's wedding was held at Spectacle Lake just this past weekend and we had a fabulous time. The people at Spectacle did a fantastic job setting up, preparing the food and party- everything was absolutely beautiful and everyone enjoyed themselves fully. I will definitely go again for a weekend getaway. Thank you so much to everyone who made the weekend so lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisambudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Due to changes in our intineary warrived after dark due tand couldn't see the lake.Our hosts were waiting for us and we were quicklyl settled into our cosy cabin. It had flat screen tv and satellite service, a microwave, a little minifridge, a coffee maker china mugs and coffee etc. The bed was big and comfy and we had a good sleep.
In the morning we awoke to tranquility and when we opened our cabin door the golden morning sunlight was just breaking over the tops of the trees and dancing on the surface of Spectacle Lake. ... Wow...! Breathtaking... and it just kept being like that
Our whole trip up from the Toronto area just kept getting nicer as we headed northeast toward Algonquin Park, but the moment I opened that cabin door I fell in love with the place. I like doing nature photography and walking so I got my fix and my husband was able to get in some golf at a local course. We really needed to get away and this was just what we were looking for.
The food in the Lodge dining room very nice. Real maple syrup on good french toast and I actually got fluffy (not chopped) scrambled eggs! Its the little things like like your tea actually coming in a tea pot . When I came back from exploring with my camera I had this great homemade potato and bacon soup - These people care about food . A Hamilton friend told me about the food because they have a cottage Barry's Bay and said they go there alot. We really recharged our batteries at Spectacle Lake Lodge. I bet they hear this all the time but I think they should rename it Spectacular Lake Lodge! We are coming back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
8.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
13.5 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
21 reviews
10.7 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
73 reviews
24.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
204 reviews
24.1 mi away
Greystone on Golden Lake
Greystone on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spectacle Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spectacle Lake Lodge

Property: Spectacle Lake Lodge
Address: 202 Spectacle Lake Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spectacle Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spectacle Lake Lodge! Our lodge has 9 cottages, 5 lodge rooms, 140 occupancy gourmet restaurant, bar and fireside lounge, beach, terrace conference center, dock, hot tub and trails. All accommodations have A/C, fully winterized, potable tap water, flat panel TVs with 120+ channels and most have fireplaces. We LOVE hosting families, ATVers, snowmobilers, poker-runs, weddings, business retreats and travelers of all descriptions. We are family-owned and operated and you will not find a higher level of service and care. WiFi is available in the lounge. Take care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Spectacle Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectacle Lake Hotel Barry`s Bay
Spectacle Lake Lodge Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing