We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Homely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We (2 adults and 2 boys aged 11 and 8) stayed here for 2 nights 7 and 8 August 2014. The room was perfect with 2 double beds, fridge, coffee machine and small bathroom. We had breakfast one day and boys enjoyed bacon, sausages and eggs while I sampled the pancakes. It was all delicious. On the second morning we enjoyed a picnic on the grass outside the room in the sun. The location is great as it is just opposite a small lake and has an old rail track at the back. So my husband went running both mornings without having to go on the road. The owners, Maureen and Doug, are a lovely couple. They were very friendly and offered lots of advice about where to go and what to do. They made us feel very welcome. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lockettorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Magical nature in environment. Near beautiful interesting Algonquinn Park. Clean and fresh air. Very quiet and green place, nice staff. Large apartment. It was nice repose for all my family. Super holiday to us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alina39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were traveling from Toronto to Ottawa via Maynooth and stayed in Barry's Bay. This was a delightful place to stop. Maureen makes a tasty breakfast. The room has free wifi and was spotlessly clean. A nice little find in the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a one night stay, and I would MOST definitely stay here again.
Rooms are clean; smoke free, and reasonably priced. A bonus was that our room was carpet free. The bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of different types of pillows to try; “loved that”. There is also free internet, a small fridge, and the shower is hot. The rooms are small but they were all we needed for one night. The motel is situated just a few kilometers outside Barry’s Bay along the highway and very easy to find. There is a screened in gazebo with tables, chairs, and a propane BBQ for guests to use. If you need any utensils the owners are more than happy to lend you whatever you need.
A Homemade Family Style Breakfast Menu is on-site, for guests, “delicious” and reasonably priced. The owners are very friendly, and they make you feel at home. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Mountain View Motel is on a main road but you won't notice that as it's quite rural. Lovely owners, very helpful, giving us a kettle so that we could make tea in our room. Breakfast is extra but very reasonable. I had pancakes, very light, with Maple Syrup and my husband had the cooked breakfast. All cooked fresh and plenty of it. Tea in a teapot, not a cup of hot water and teabag! Our room was on the small side but was clean and as we were only there one night, it wasn't a problem. The only down side was if we had been staying longer there was nowhere to hang clothes, no rails or hangers. Would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Our room (20) was very clean with everything one could need or want. Had a great sleep, nice hot shower and an excellent breakfast. The owners are very charming and very excited about their new windows!! A great find where you can bring your four-legged buddy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtripaddict2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The room is small, however there was a lot of space to sit outdoors. Its a beautiful location. Once night hits, its very quiet and you get an amazing view of the stars in the sky. The hotel is old, my room wasn't quite clean, and the towels are not soft! The bed was clean, and breakfast each day was very good! The grilled cheese and pancakes were delicious! The owners are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
3.9 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
3.2 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
17.2 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#6 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 18508 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motel Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing