We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Came up for a family reunion, Owners Mark and Yvette were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the beds were super comfy, plus had the added bonus of a fridge, microwave and coffee maker right in the room. I slept great from the peace and quite of being up north. Felt very safe letting the children run around the large property, and with it being walking distance to a lovely lake with a great park for the kids it was a perfect family getaway! I would definatly recommend and go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thanks Kimberly for such a nice review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. It is certainly a great area for kids. Our 6 year old loves that park and the public beach right next to it! We hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at the Pinewood while in Barry's Bay for a family wedding. Indeed, it was 'comfy' as ad suggests but more than that it was peaceful and much more than I expected of a 'mom & pop' operation. Mark & Yvette were hospitable, friendly and warmly welcoming .Everything was clean, bed was soooo comfortable, A/C was not beside the bed so no cold blasts of air, frig, microwave & coffee maker...all I needed. Plus the unit had a back door that opened to a picnic area with unbelievable view of spacious lawns, trees and the lake. Each morning I rose early to take my coffee and Kindle to a lawn chair to enjoy the beauty and listen to the birds. Didn't get much reading done because I was too busy relaxing!!! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks Gail for that great review! We are so pleased to provide a clean and comfortable place for our guests. It does our hearts good to see people enjoying the backyard and fully relaxing...sorry you couldn't finish your book, lol. We hope to see you again!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Do you remember when we were kids how staying at a motel was a special experience? We do and the Pinewood brought this memory back. We stayed at the Pinewood for four nights this past week-end while we worked a large piece of land we recently purchased nearby. The Pinewood was exactly what we needed after long days of work in the woods. You can tell the motel is an old structure, but it is clean and the obvious signs of constant improvements (e.g. new comfortable beds, new coffee makers in rooms, grills out back, clean carpeting, beautiful new sign, etc) over the past year of new ownership speak volumes about what great people own this motel. Mark, Yvette and Hayden are a wonderful family and their passion for their motel and home is simply remarkable. If you are seeking a good, quiet, restful night's sleep in a clean, comfortable room then be assured you will enjoy the Pinewood. The amazing "backyard" to each room which includes a view to the West (i.e. sunset) and access to new barbeques along with public beachfront on Lake Kamaniskeg less than a two minute walk away are all bonuses that will make your stay here memorable. Keep up the great work Yvette, Mark and Hayden!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you Peter! We are grateful for you positive feedback and recognition of our hard work. We will continue to provide a clean and comfortable motel experience that our guests can rely on. We look forward to having you stay with us again...until the time comes that we become neighbors. :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Traveled from Hamilton to Barrys Bay for a weekend up north to this oasis. From check in to check out, the owners took great care of us. The backyard BBQ, the beach, the comfy beds and clean rooms were all we could have hoped for. We will return to The Pinewood Inn next year without a doubt. Thanks for everything :)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12, it was great. Shower had awesome pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you very much Colm. It was our pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit! Don't forget to book early again!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the Pinewood for the weekend while attending a music festival that was being held in Madawaska nearby and loved it! Last year we had stayed somewhere different and were not very impressed - and the Pinewood was a welcome change! Mark and Yvette were beyond friendly - their warm welcome was very much appreciated and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. They were on hand the whole time to help out with even the littlest issue (supplying plates & cutlery that we forgot to bring, and a minor medical issue). The price was super affordable too! I love the little extras that weren't expected - a beautiful beach on a quiet lake on which to spend the afternoon relaxing, the comfort of having amenities like a BBQ, fridge and microwave, and a massive backyard overlooking the lake. It felt like being at the cottage! I wish we could have stayed an extra week! The greatest part was being so close to everything in town but still far out enough to feel like you were in the wilderness and not have all the hustle and bustle of the town. We're already thinking of booking ahead for next year!

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thanks Julie for the terrific review. We appreciate all the positive support. So glad that we could give you a quiet place to rest between working. We welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Booked in for an overnight rest and stayed for three days-This Motel was the first one I pulled into when I decided to call it a day. I travel with a Great Dane so approached desk with trepidation as to his acceptance. Not only was he accepted, they went out of their way to make sure he was comfortable which in turn made me very comfortable and changed my itinerary soas to make this my base for a three day period.
The bonus of this facility is that the rooms have a back door that opens onto a large tract of grassy area in which my four legged friend made himself at home. If you have travelled with a large dog you know the hassle you go through to get them settled. This place was instant comfort, out the back door, no concrete nor ashphalt and lots of friendly trees to raise a leg on.
The room was super clean and up to date. In other words, if you are travelling in the area, map out this place as a base, in particular if you have a dog for a companion. It also helps that it is in a gorgeous setting and the nearby village is a treat to explore. I will return!!
My four star rating should be taken into consideration when I have never given any facility i have ever stayed at in my fourty odd years of travelling a Five star rating. In other words, it was great and the operators are very nice people. Thanks folks, Charlie and I appreciated it very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you Max for a great review. We are sincerely glad that you & Charlie were comfortable. It was our pleasure to have you both here, especially since Charlie was such a well-behaved dog and that you were such a responsible doggy parent :)
We hope to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland Lake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Pinewood Inn this past weekend while in Barry's Bay for a memorial. It had been a few years since we had stayed there and we weren't quite sure what to expect. The improvements that have been made by Yvette and Mark certainly impressed us! The room was spacious and exceptionally clean. The beds were comfy and new and the bathroom was redone. I was suprised to see all the amenities of a branded hotel including in room coffee, hair dryer , wireless high speed internet, and iron and ironing board. Over and above the usual, they also provided a fridge and microwave, make up remover wipes, in room brochure rack and extra blankets and pillows. There was also a nice seating area out back for relaxing and close proximity to the beach. Great stay. We will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinewoodinn, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you Selena for your positive and gracious review. We strive to provide preferred accomodation and have worked very hard to acheive this goal. We continue to make improvements to our motel and look foward to your next (and hopefully more) return. :)
Yvette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
3.2 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
17.3 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
9.5 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#5 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Property: Pinewood Inn
Address: 378 John St. Hwy 62 S, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Inn is a quiet, family run motel next to beautiful Kamaniskeg Lake. We are steps to a public beach, playground, tennis courts and public dock. Downtown Barry's Bay and local restaurants (one is only .5Km away!) Are within easy access. There is also a Shell gas with C-store next door and parking is right in front your door. Our rooms feature comfy pillow-topped beds, carpeting, private bathroom and all our rooms have fridge/microwave and in-room coffee. Also A/C, satellite TV and free WiFi. We can accommodate small to larger families, and rooms have a back door leading to our spacious backyard with seating, BBQ's and a relaxing view of the lake. A Cozy Place to Stay While in Barry's Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Inn Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing