We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Barry's Bay B&B and Inns
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
“Lovely Country Inn”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

You will love not only the surroundings of this Inn but also the owners. Lovely people that did everything they could to accommodate our family (and last minute visitors arriving from out of Province) without a flinch. The grounds and rooms are lovely and the food is fantastic. We would definitely recommend staying at the Madawaska Valley Inn....and you can't forget about the family cats - quite the entertainers and very friendly - loved the whole experience!

Room Tip: The Hudson Bay room is huge - if you are travelling as a family...we also booked the Oak Room - love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks Jennifer. You have such a lovely family it was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My sister and I recently had the good fortune to stay at Fortune's Madawaska for a night en route to a canoe trip in Algonquin Park. It could not have been a better place to spend the night. Our room was very comfortable, clean and had a great view of the fields across the road and the Inn's garden. The price of the room was very reasonable too. Nancy, one of the owners, was welcoming and great to talk to. We had a great dinner and breakfast at the Inn--the food was delicious and the drinks were great. We also loved the bouquets of flowers fresh from Nancy's garden that adorned the Inn. As we left for our trip, my sister and I pledged to each other that we would be back in future years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It was great having you stay with us and hearing about your adventure. Thanks so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have stopped here for a meal for the past 4 years. Whether it has been just my wife and I or our family the service has been excellent and the food great. The menu was varied and complete. We will certainly visit again on our next visit to Barry's Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thanks Brian, that's music to our ears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I've been a guest at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn for over 10 years and you simply cannot find a more welcoming place in all of the Madawaska Valley. The rooms are comfy and cozy, the food is simply amazing and your hosts, Nancy and Warwick have thought of every single need or request you may have. The Inn is a place you leave having made two new friends for life. Nancy and Warwick are very knowledgeable about any possible interest you may inquire about and are valuable resources with ideas on how to enjoy the many sites and activities in the area. The gardens surrounding the inn are meticulously maintained with Nancy's green thumb and continue to bloom all summer long with bursts of color. She really is a "flower whisperer". If you aren't planning an overnight stay, the restaurant is a great place to drop in for lunch or dinner anytime! You will feel like you went on a mini vacation after your meal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Wow, thanks so much. I think I need to hire you as a marketing rep! Really appreciate you doing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent the beautiful time in this nice and very comfortable place. The big room, excellent breakfasts and dinners, and fresh air around us make our weekend memorable. Nice atmosphere, and gracious host caused that we already miss this place.
Thank you Nancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank org70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
So kind. You are right about the air. It is one on the things I love most about the valley. Hope you can come and visit again soon and resume my wild mushroom lessons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great stop along the RAP tour - direct access to RAP trail.

Spent one night and ate 2 meals. The accomodations were clean, cozy and quaint. The food was fantastic!!! I'd stop in to eat if I didn't spend the night for sure!

My wife and I will definitely be making this our stopover for this leg of the RAP.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
It has been so hot this week that thinking of winter and our snowmobiling guests was a great respite. I'm glad you liked it! Warwick was the president of our club for years so we always love looking after our sledders. It will be that time of year again in a blink of an eye. Thanks so much for posting your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have stayed in over 50 B&Bs throughout my travels. Everything was great about this place from the rooms, very kind hosts and OMG the food...it was 5 star quality but with reasonable prices. I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: all rooms are great but if you have one with a pull out sofa bed that you plan on using, the pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Warwick and I work very hard to make our guests stay a positive experience. So when someone takes the time to tell us and everyone else that it is working, it means a great deal. We know our efforts are appreciated and that makes all the difference. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
8.5 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
71 reviews
13.6 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
20 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#7 of 8 in Barry's Bay
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn

Property: Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Address: 19854 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country inn is located in the beautiful Madawaska Valley near the town of Barry's Bay. Set among sloping lawns and towering red pines the Inn is a perfect place to relax while you enjoy the valley or rest on your journey between Ottawa and Algonquin Park. Excellent dining room for your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn Canada/Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing