We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This resort makes you feel at home, while you're on vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This resort makes you feel at home, while you're on vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I worked and stayed with the Oakwood resort for a group having their regional meetings. The staff was consistently helpful, knowledgable, and friendly. The resort itself is in a great location, just a few minutes from the downtown strip for shopping and nightlife. The resort has several features for families to enjoy including tennis courts, a golf course, pool and spa, and it's own private section of the beach ( this is made even better when you look just up the coast to the over crowded public area!). The rooms were comfortable with air conditioners and balconies and the housekeeping staff does very well keeping a lodge-style resort so clean! Overall I very much enjoyed my stay here and hope to host more clients here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drrachel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    135
    75
    51
    18
See reviews for
146
120
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very conveniently located about a 3minute drive just out of Grand Bend. My wife, 4yr old daughter and myself took the B&B package for 3 nights. Our deluxe room was very spacious with a balcony, king bed, pullout couch, fireplace, fridge, telephone and tv. The resort is very clean and the grounds are very well cared for. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The breakfast had a lot of choice - from scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage (on day 2), pancakes or waffles (on day 2), hash browns, french toast, a variety of cereals and yoghurt, about two types of muffins, assorted danishes and croissants) to beverages (milk, juice, tea, coffee and water). We had a great time at the private beach, children's play area and the indoor pool.
The resort's convenient location made it a great base from which we made several trips into Grand Bend to visit the newly renovated Main Street and great restaurants like the Schoolhouse restaurant, Grandpa Jimmy's Scottish Bakery and Aunt Gussy's restaurant. Would definitely stay here if we visit Grand Bend again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Very clean rooms. Excellent service. Amazing venues. so close to the beach

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

On June 9, 2012 we celebrated our daughter's wedding. It was a great venue to host a wedding! The staff were wonderful...Diana Simpson is a gem! She was most accommodating with our every wish. She worked long hours to make it perfect for us. John Grouchy too is a great asset to Oakwood as well. He too made it a wonderful experience.
The food was delicious - kudos to the chef - it was also served "hot" to our guests who truly were impressed.
The Oakwood Resort is a beautiful place to have a destination wedding in Ontario. Our guests travelled from Austin, Texas, Orlando, Florida, Washington, DC, York, Pennsylvania, Edmonton, Alberta, Toronto and surrounding areas. They were all very impressed with the accommodations, food, friendly staff, beach and amazing sunsets on the beach.
Thank you Oakwood for helping make our daughter and new son-in-law's wedding dreams a reality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Thanks Oakwood - you looked after our delegates coming from across Canada. We were always greeted with smiles and warmth from your great staff. Despite a very busy conference schedule most of our guests were able to enjoy walks on the beach, several bonfires, solid food in the Clubhouse and maybe even a few rounds of golf. Felt like it was an upscale summer camp for adults! Thanks for making every effort to look after our needs as a group as well as the needs of our individual delegates. I'll look forward to dropping back in to visit when I'm back in the neighbourhood!

Room Tip: The Executive cottage is great - nice little kitchen, great decks, and a great living room to either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed last year for a night in August and we were really impressed with our accomodations, we were in the Oak Lodge.New, clean and ,comfortable, it matched all my expectations. We also enjoyed the glassed in pool area, access to the private beach on Lake Huron, well kept and fantastic grounds and a great restaurant that offered a great variety and quality in both their lunch and dinner choices.Nearby tennis courts while not on par with the golf course are easy to get onto and offer another outing for the day. Only bit of a drawback was the front desk lady who wasn't particularily outgoing or friendly but everybody gets to have an off day. This year we are taking a 2 day stay with the all inclusive golf package,really looking forward to returning !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boomernotawhiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Oakwood staff were nothing less than excellent during our conference. They were accommodating, helpful and warm. The rooms are modern and comfortable, the surroundings are beautiful. I would definitely go back for a family or personal trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#6 of 8 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing