We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed ”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We hadn't booked the hotel so had to pay over the price for a walk in. The facilities weren't working properly (hot tub out of order) and pool was full of screaming kids so it was a bit expensive for what we got so a bit disappointed which is a shame as it could be a great place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenMC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We do apologize that you did not feel that you received good value for what you spent as we strive hard to ensure that is the case. We will share your comments with our staff and management to see where we can make improvements and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so we can show you our normal level of service and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We held our wedding at the Oakwood Resort in May 2014. From start to finish, the experience was excellent. We couldn't have been happier.

Coordinators: Greg and Samantha's follow up was timely and excellent. I found them very, very flexible and helpful. On several occasions I made changes to everything from our guest numbers to our table set up. Each change was handled very kindly. Samantha was also at the day of event, which really made me feel things would be handled well.

Food: I cannot say enough about Chef Mark. Chef Mark is FABULOUS. Food was so, so good. The food you taste in the tasting is exactly what you get. We had a group of 80 people, with 4 entree choices, and he got everything bang on. We had chefs and restaurant owners on our guest list, and they echoed our great reviews. Do the filo wrapped cheesecake... heaven!
We also did our rehearsal meal at the Oakwood on the Friday night. Chef Mark handled a risotto station (think of a omelet station sort of, but with risotto). It was incredible. If you like risotto you will LOVE this.

Service: John Grouchy and his team were extremely helpful. John was very helpful, both at our planning meeting, the day of, and even the day after. Sunday morning he'd carefully packed up the decorations we had. John was also very flexible with arrangements- our wedding day it called for rain, and he was ready and willing to make arrangements in our out. He also gave us great ideas, like taking a group photo.

Spa: our services were excellent. My bridal party went for manicures and pedicures the morning of our wedding. Each esthetician, and Kerri the RMT were all so nice and flexible. Our nieces (ages 7 and 9) also went, and really enjoyed the "mini-mani" (for little girls).

Rooms: the room included in the wedding package was beautiful. It had a gigantic bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub, balcony, mini bar area, and separate seating area.
The front desk person (Melissa I believe) was very, very helpful. She arranged for child care for our nieces and nephews, at a reasonable price, and handled MANY inquiries from us.

Golf: the course was in great shape, and the price was terrific. The club house was very helpful.

All in all, we got lucky with the weather (it was sun shine all day) but even if it hadn't been, I am confident the day would have been flawless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelle5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to host your wedding here at Oakwood and we are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of the Resort. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all of our departments and managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

For my birthday, my boyfriend took me to the Oakwood Resort in Grand Bend. He is from London, so we frequent the beach at Grand Bend regularly. We have always commented on how nice the Oakwood Resort looked from the road. The grounds are actually very pretty, even though it is early in the season, the golf course looked beautiful, the grounds were tidy and neat. Prior to our arrival, my boyfriend asked if the room on the website was the room that we would be getting as he did reserve a deluxe room. He was assured that it was. Upon arriving, our room, was very dark and dated and not appealing at all!!! We contemplated not staying but choose to make the best of the situation with the intention of not returning again. Dinner at the Clubhouse was very nice. We understand that it has recently been taken over by new management and the staff were doing a lovely job at accommodating guests. At 9:00 a nice band was playing and over all the meal and atmosphere was great. Kudos to the Clubhouse!! Although neither the resort or the Clubhouse were willing to do anything to acknowledge my birthday. Which is not a big deal at my age, but it may be important to a younger person. When we returned to our room, it took us about 20 minutes to lock the balcony door because the locking mechanism was in such disrepair. In the morning we headed down to the breakfast buffet. This is where I became completely annoyed with the Resort. It was Mother's Day and there was a brunch starting at 10:00 for the occasion. Our buffer consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, hash browns and a very small assortment (meaning 2) of pastries. There were two tables filled with fruit, salads, desserts etc with saran wrap over them, reserved for the Mother's Day brunch, and we were informed that we were not welcome to that food. HOW absolutely RUDE!!! Upon check out we voiced our complaints and were advised that there was no manager on duty and that she would be in later and would call us. Well 3 days later and still no call. The weekend package was not cheap and it is unfortunate that our experience was terrible. We have already mentioned our experience to a few friends because word of mouth is the best advertisement for hotels, shops, etc. So do not waste your time or money at the Oakwood Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pmizil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate your feedback and we were glad to see that you were pleased with the majority of your stay. We also appreciate your feedback regarding your experience for breakfast on Mother's Day and apologize that the duty manager did not contact you as you were told they would.

To address your particular concern though, each year we host our Mother's Day brunch for close to 300 guests. As I'm sure you can appreciate this is a very busy day for many restaurants and it is an event where families reserve weeks in advance and we prepare a special brunch above and beyond what we normally offer.

In this case there are items that are not available on our normal buffet and we do need to ensure these are available to those that made reservations and have paid the additional cost of the special buffet. We provide food based on the number of reservations that have been made and do not want to disappoint those guests that are expecting to have certain items and quantities based on their reservation.

I will be sure to share your concern with our senior management as well as our food and beverage team to see if in the future there is perhaps a better way to handle this and again we sincerely appreciate your feedback and do hope you will reconsider and stay at Oakwood again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited the Oakwood Inn resort twice. The greatest feature of this place is the private entrance to the beach. No crowds makes for a peaceful atmosphere. To get to the beach you walk about 5min through the cottage zone. You can wonder through this area, it is a very calm walk. We would get our morning coffee and speed walk past a lot of nice cottages.
Upon check in you are tagged with a wrist band so you can get past the security guard at the rear of the resort towards the beach.
The first time, We stayed in the pine lodge which is attached to the indoor pool and spa (located on main floor). The downside is that the whole building smells a little musty due to the pool. Housekeeping was good and everything felt clean. If the musty smell bothers you I would request the main building.
The second trip, we stayed in the main building where you check in. We had a fireplace jr suite, it was very nice. The beds were super comfy and bedding felt fresh and clean. Bathroom is basic but has everything you need. When we walked in, the room was comfortably cooled down, a welcome retreat from the hot sun.
Breakfast is done fairly well. You can opt for the hot buffet which we always do. Not the best breakfast food we've had but good enough. There is a toaster station for breads and bagels. There are hot plates for scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon. Cereals, yoghurts, juices and milk. Servers will serve hot tea and coffee.
If you like to golf the course here is good. The first tee is nerve racking as it is done on a platform above the first whole. The club house restaurant patio overlooks this area too which makes me nervous as I hit the glass once! To get to hole 2 you drive your cart across the highway. Overall, the course is in good shape.
There is tennis as well., we didn't use the courts.
As far as othe accommodations, you can reserve a cottage which we haven't done as they look a bit outdated on their website.
Overall, a nice beach getaway in ontario. I wouldn't do the package as they automatically tack on a gratuity charge, better to pay separate and you decide whether service is worth tipping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebittytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our Resort. We are happy to hear that you were pleased overall with everything during your two stays and we hope to have you back as our guest this summer. We have been working hard on improvements to the rooms and the resort as a whole and we would love to show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Oakwood Resort welcomed Legion members from across Southwestern Ontario into their beautiful accommodations. The staff are exceptionally friendly and professional. We enjoyed well appointed, comfortable rooms, and good food & fun at Dave's Clubhouse. The overall experience was wonderful and the setting of their wooded grounds made you feel comfortable and relaxed. This is truly a resort with everything to enjoy and explore. We are so lucky to have the Oakwood in our county of Lambton.

Room Tip: Suites in the Pine Lodge are next to the pool and spa. Good parking throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Oakwood. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments along to the employees who were working while you were here. It was a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to having you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I came with our family to Oakwood for a couple days. We were not pleased to know that the cleanliness of the linens were never washed. Our comforters were not washed and when discussing it with one of the employees , they informed us they would see to it that it was taken to be washed. They waited for us to leave and when we returned the comforter was flipped over and there were wet marks from a cloth. My husband was furious about this and we will not be returning . We discussed our issue with the housekeeping manager i believe her name was diane, and she said that it would be taken care of. I would not recommend this resort to any of my friends or family again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I apologize that the bedding in your room was not up to our usual standard of cleanliness. We use an outside service for our linen cleaning, it is not handled on site, and we will be sure to review and better inspect our linens when they are returned to us.

I have already made our senior management aware of the issues that you experienced and we have already taken steps to ensure that this is monitored more closely. Please understand that we strive to provide the best for our guests and your unfortunate experience is not the standard that we usually provide. We would love the opportunity to host you and your family again so you can see first hand our normally exceptional level of cleanliness and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I planned a retreat for 50+ at the resort over the past weekend and everything was absolutely perfect. The staff are courteous, attentive and very nice. They truly went above and beyond to meet our needs. The food was delicious. Our group were strict vegetarians and the chefs ensured that the meals were flavourful, healthy and scrumptious! I could not believe how fresh all of the ingredients were and how everything seemed like it was cooked only a few minutes prior to serving! Hi-speed wi-fi is a bonus! We were able to stream the live hockey game onto a big projector screen and there were no cut outs. The rooms are great - clean linens, good showers, and nice views. We will definitely be returning next year. The resort is only a 5 minute walk from Lake Huron, which is breathtaking during the winter. It really made us realize how beautiful Canada is, and you really don't need to go far to experience it's beauty. I highly recommend this resort as a relaxing getaway for all times of the year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheelaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I know our staff really enjoyed having your group at the resort and we look forward to hosting your next retreat!

I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the staff working that weekend as well as others in management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Forest Golf and Country Hotel
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
174 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range: £90 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing