We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canada Day Celebrations”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Family and I spent 4 days at Oakwood Resorts. This resort is approx 15 mins walk from Main Street and Grand Bend public beach. Set on a golf course the main building is recently updated, however, many of the accomodation rooms are in older building that need to be attended too. Many of ther rooms have balconies and we upgraded to a "deluxe room" - however, found no difference in our room to a standard room. The staff and workers on the property are all pleasant and hardworking. Room cleaning is done in the afternoon, so do not be suprised to come back to your room at lunch and its not completed. We did notice that bedding and sheets and the general cleaniness of the bathrooms was below par. Soap stains remain on counter-tops, towels are re-folded and not replaced.
The food both at buffet and Clubhouse were good. The selection of food at the buffet is varied and tasty. The morning coffee, however, is weak and a better suggestion is to drive to the local Tim Hortons. The "private" beach is shared with a gated local residential community and is approx 5 mins walk from the property. The golf course is average and the driving range a 2 mins drive away from the property on the other side of the road. Note - on Tuesday after 1pm the golfing is only $12 (however - in the summer this may not be a good idea).
Overall - Oakwood Resorts is a good location, however, it left one to feel something missing and just not complete. Looking for a quick break away from the city (it's approx 2 hr 15 mins from Mississauga), its a great place to visit. The beach has miles of soft, clean sand and the shores extend into Lake Huron for some distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have plans in the near future for additional updates and renovations to guest rooms and other areas of the resort as well. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a suite with the best (and biggest) jacuzzi we've ever seen anywhere, a huge bathroom with loads and loads of towels, a comfortable bed, and a separate sitting area with a small bar/frig setup. For sleeping, the suite was dark and quiet, which for a couple of stressed out GTAers is like a gift from on high. The dining room and pub serve excellent food. The ambience is classic 20th century, with mature trees everywhere. It's a two minute walk down a private lane to one of the nicest beaches on this part of Lake Huron.

Rain and injuries kept us off of the golf course this trip but it looks nice. If you are looking for a lesson, Colin Scatcherd is a first rate instructor.

Quibbles: plastic glasses in the rooms, clumpy wi-fi, unimaginative breakfast buffet, and the fitness room should either be fixed up or closed.

We loved it, and we're going back on Labour Day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rkkbToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to management regarding the WiFi and the fitness centre so we can look into these further. We do use plastic cups in our room as it then allows our guests to take them with them on the Resort. If a plastic cup is dropped we do not have to worry about injuries as many guests do go from area to area in only flip flops or occasionally with no shoes at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

had the pleasure of coming to this property on Canada day long weekend for a wedding.
arrived late Friday night and check in was very quick and helpful.
was given our room key and a map how to get there. we were upgraded to a jacuzzi suite at free charge which was an added bonus.
we entered the room and to our surprise the room was MASSIVE.
had a nice little kitchen area and seating area, our bedroom was large with 1 king size bed and the washroom was the most amazing thing about our room, it was so big with a jacuzzi that fit 2.
we wondered the property for a while that night and everything looked perfect, couldnt wait till morning to explore some more.
work up early saturday morning and my girlfriend had to run some errands before the wedding so i was on my own for majority of the morning.
I went to the buffet breakfast and was blown away with the service and quality of food.
very nice job.
after leaving breakfast i went down to the beach which is not even a 10 minute walk and enjoyed majority of my morning just laying in the sun and enjoying the clean relaxing beach.
i forgot to bring some water with me so i decided to pack my stuff from the beach and walk back to the room and go to the pool instead.
the pool was nice, just wish it was outdoors.
the hot tub outside was very comfortable and there were some chairs i could leave my stuff on.
i was looking for the fitness room but i could not find it for the life of me even after i asked somebody where it was.
i wish they had more signs as to where things were so people could find them a little bit easier.
my girlfriend came back and we decided to go back to the beach and actually walked all the way to the main beach at grande bend, again only a 15 minute walk and very nice and clean.
stayed at the beach for a couple of hours then headed back to the room to get ready for the wedding.
beautiful wedding, you can tell who ever put it together paid special attention to detail and everything was fantastic.
the food served at the wedding was very good and everybody at my table agreed.
overall i would say this is a great place to come visit and to enjoy a weekend away from the city.
they have free WiFi almost everywhere and i couldn't have asked for anything else that weekend.
i will return and definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Champ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback regarding the signage. After investigating we found out the sign for the fitness centre had been removed and we will be replacing. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I recently visited Oakwood resort and we were very impressed. The room was very clean, all the staff members we met were very helpful and friendly. The food in the pub was delicious and the waiters and bar staff were polite and gave great service. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast that was included in our room package. It was a great place to visit and we are planning our next trip to Oakwood Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I didn't really know what to expect about this property, having just been there once before, daytime, for a function. Overall, I was pleased with my experience

What I liked: Nice size, well maintained rooms with balcony / patio access (for most). Rooms are spread over a few buildings. Comfortable bedding and efficient air conditioning (which was badly needed during my stay). Reliable wifi service. Decent soundproofing, with the exception that if you are assigned the room next to the "interior gazebo", things can get a little noisy if an event/function is going on. Walking distance to Lake Huron and the "beach" area - so overall, very nice surroundings. This is not a young property but so far, I wold say that it is well maintained and aging well

What to watch for / could be improved: Other than the food offering that I have personally found to be average (at best), there is not much to fault.

If looking for a getaway in Southern Ontario (about a one hour drive from London), this property would likely do the trick

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to surprise you! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and I will be sure to pass your comments on regarding the food to our Chef and senior management. We have been working hard to improve all aspects of Oakwood and we appreciate the feedback so we can continue to focus on our food and beverage offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Today we enjoyed a delicious lunch at the Oakwood Inn. The dining room was busy even though it was after 1pm. We were invited to choose our own table and our server was with us as soon as we sat down. The food is top quality and delicious. The service was very friendly and efficient. The chef is obviously talented, our food was beautifully presented and was far from standard fare. We don't need an excuse to visit the Oakwood in the near future we will be going back soon for the delicious food and great service. I highly recommend the Oakwood Inn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your lunch at Oakwood and we look forward to having you join us again soon. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Chef and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was planning our girls golf weekend and chose Oakwood Resort in Grand Bend - seconds from the beach or lovely indoor pool - fun round of golf - excellent food - very comfortable rooms and awesome entertainment - just pull up the car and you never have to move it until time to go home The girls have all been raving about what an awesome time they had Thank you to all the friendly and helpful staff I would highly recommend this as your next destination Sue London Ontario

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms at Longshore and you could sit out back for privacy or out front -both had nice patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 266Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back at Oakwood again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
30 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
173 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range: £91 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing