We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed about lack of environmental awareness”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
ancaster
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed about lack of environmental awareness”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The beds were comfortable, the rooms nice in spite of a bathroom sink that did not drain unless you crawled underneath and pulled on the "thingy". The location for a wedding cannot be beat. However, I was surprised that everything-and I mean everything goes in the garbage. There is not even a small effort to recycle what must amount to a mountain of cans and bottles even though there is a recycling program in Grand Bend. For this reason, I am giving it a failing grade and will never return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdkdkdkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to let you know as well that we are currently reviewing our recycling program and will soon be returning blue boxes to all rooms. This had been done in the past but was stopped temporarily during the review. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future to see this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    149
    84
    52
    22
See reviews for
163
133
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Since I love Grand Bend beach, the best in Ontario and a prime viewing spot for the fantastic Lake Huron sunsets, we went to the Oakwood Inn last summer. We love the location, the 5 min walk to the private beach, the golf course, but the meals and service left a bit to be desired.
I am happy to say that we returned this year in July to find the meals at the buffet and the service to be outstanding, a marked improvement. We had such a great time during our 3 night stay that we booked to return in August. Once again we had a wonderful time, the pool is lovely, our 5and7 year olds enjoyed the golf camp, the dinners were fantastic (with the s'mores bar being a big hit with the kids). The new bed linens were comfy, but the mattress could do with being replaced. We always request the same room (but we will keep which one a secret so that it will be available next time we want to return!). I would not hesitate to recommend this as a great family resort, and we are already talking to friends about who will join us for next year's trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is always great for us to hear when we have been able to improve as we are always working hard to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests! I am glad you enjoyed your recent stays with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff, I know they will be pleased that their improvements have been noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on August long weekend. Was not impressed with outdated decode, and rooms. Quality of finishes and workmanship and cleanliness for that matter was substandard. The beds on the other hand were very comfortable, and the air conditioner in the room worked. View is much to be desired and the plumbing in bathrooms worked but general fit and finish and feel was substandard. For the amount being charged for one night, I would have expected much more. Also, there is no air conditioning in the hallways of the wind so it was very stifling while carrying your stuff to the top floor. Did I mention that there is no elevator, so you have to schlep all you stuff up to your room by yourself (no concierge or bell hop to help).

The next day when looking for the beach you had to carry all you stuff and hike to the beach which was about a 5-10 minute walk, in our case it was the later considering you have to carry all your stuff and keep track of the kids; essentially you are walking through a neighborhood to get to the beach, you cannot drive and park!

I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay had there been a better alternative. I think camping at this point at the pinery is better.

Kind regards to staff who were not the friendliest bunch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozillatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate you taking the time to submit it. I have already forwarded your comments on to our senior management team for review. We are always looking for ways to improve and will be working starting in September on updating guestrooms as they do see a large amount of traffic during the summer months.

I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As with any Resort property we unfortunately don't always have all the luxuries of a city Hotel, however I do hope you will consider us in the future. Our reservations agents are always happy to suggest things like main floor rooms to avoid having to do stairs in order to have your stay be more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up in the Clubhouse Pub restaurant for dinner, we were immediately greeted, offered water, drinks and welcomes from host, servers and anyone else walking around. The waiter we had was especially great, checking back, offering things, and the dinners; chicken tacos and Mac&cheese were excellent. Thanks to all, this place never disappoints!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for submitting your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed everything. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our pub staff and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I attended a conference last year at this resort and decided to take my family this summer. Another great stay. Room was great, had a suite. Very roomy and had a fantastic sleep.All amenitiys were fantastic. Ate in the dinning room and it was fantastic. Drinks and snacks at Daves Place were again very good. Had a great time and will return as a family again. I am back the end of Sept. for another conference.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafssfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, it was great to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us both as a corporate and family traveler! We look forward to providing you another great experience when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The food at the restaurants was amazing! Especially the Italian food buffet. The room was very clean. We stayed at the Pine Lodge bec this is where the pool is located. The staff was very friendly, beach is beautiful... Made for a perfect getaway.... Our toddler didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Pine Lodge has the swimming pool in it which is good for kids... especially if it's raining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennypooo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We were so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Oakwood Resort. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we look forward to being a part of this new family tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Oakwood Resort Friday Aug 8th. The room was awesome and the beds were out of this world. Our kids loved the pool and the resort. Were going to stay Sat night also but something came up with my work so had to head home Sat am. Staff were great on the front desk with letting us cancel our Sat night. Will be back for sure in the last week of Aug.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Pine Lodge. The pool is in that Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgrace1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It was great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Oakwood! We look forward to having you and your family back again at the end of the month. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
7.6 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
29 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing