We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Bend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinery Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our second camping trip to The Pinery with our 2 young children. We have only stayed at the Burley campground, and after driving through the park seems to be the best for campsite space and distance to the beach. While some have had issues with loud and disruptive behaviour, on both occasions at Burley we have not experienced this. The comfort stations were well kept and cleaned regularly. Staff at all locations within the park were friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful and suitable for children i.e. shallow with no drop off and calm waters (if there is no stormy weather on the horizon). We also made use of the cycling trails and found them to be rolling and scenic through the forested areas, our 5 year old just loved them. We had a trail- a- bike for our 3 year old so that we could go for awhile. Be advised you can't just rent a trail-a-bike, you must also rent one of the adult bikes. A significant section of the Savannah trail is on the one way road around the park, but we still found it to be relaxing and suitable for kids given the fact the speed limit in the park is 40 km/h and traffic can only go one way (the other way is reserved for bikes). You will not be disappointed with The Pinery, plus there are no mosquitos and no headaches from the seemingly endless traffic jam north to Muskoka.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    60
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
111
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Welcome to the Pinery.Cops have binoculars and are hiding in the bushes.The park is nice but is spoiled by the fact if you have a glass of wine at the beach you could be evicted .Welcome to Canada where the fun police are everywhere.sad.

Room Tip: Canada is very untrained in the tourism industry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank localhassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently came back from 3 days camping at Pinery Provincial Park in Ontario with friends. The water looks very pretty and the sunsets were beautiful but the water was ice cold and murky. Also, the beach (at Burley campground) was swarming with biting little flies! We couldn't sit still for a minute without being bitten by these vicious little things that were everywhere on the beach. Sadly, I couldn't swim or relax on the beach. Also to get to the beach, you need to climb up a tall staircase and to a platform and then climb all the way down.

Surprisingly, there were not many mosquitos at our campsite. The washrooms at the comfort stations were clean and well stocked with toilet paper. However, I think I saw a tick on our picnic table. I didn't know what it was at first until I came home and Googled it. Beware of ticks if you go there. We will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgirl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Once again, Pinery didn't disappoint. The beach is beautiful and hard to beat. The water is shallow and sandy (no rocks to step on!) and great for small children. Many of the comfort stations have been re-done in the past few years. We found them to be clean and well maintained. You are bound to have a great time if you follow some simple tips:

1. Try to go during the week. We were there during the busiest time of summer and the loop we were in was absolutely quiet after it got dark.

2. If you have a tent, choose Burley campground. It is for tents and smaller trailers with no electrical hookups. It offers more space between sites and has easy beach access.

3.. When choosing a site, look at the pictures on the reservations site and try to choose a site on the outside of the loop, rather than in the middle. The sites in the middle are smaller, closer together and hence less private.

4. Watch out for poison ivy! Its everywhere! Especially in shady areas.

5. Watch for ticks! We found 3 on our most recent visit. Two on our beach towels (at the beach) and one in our tent. Thankfully they were not the type that transmits Lyme Disease but both can be found. Do a tick check on each other every night! A tick must be attached for 24 hours in order to transmit the disease.

6. Get cheap firewood and ice on Hwy. 21 instead of the park store or woodlot. You can get both at Shivers and Shakes.

7. Don't drink and drive! OPP was doing a ride program inside the park on a weekday evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WoodYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have been to The Pinary on a couple of occasions and have enjoyed it. The Sauble River is outstanding to paddle (especially in a kayak) and the beaches are truly grand. The sites, like in all provincial parks, range from outstanding to poor. There is, of course, no water or sewer service at any of the sites in the Ontario Parks but with a little planning you can get around that pretty easily. The camp store is well stocked and they have both bike and canoe rentals available. There is a small restaurant, and although I didn't eat there, the food looked fine (standard fare, hotdogs, hamburgers etc). There are nice cycling paths around the park as well as several hiking trails. It is close to Grand Bend if beach towns are your thing...here is the caveat to the whole thing...COCKROACHES!

I have been camping all my life and have been to just about every provincial park within 4 hours of Toronto (and more) and I have never run into this problem. I just spent two nights at the Pinary and low and behold there they were. We had to go over everything with a fine toothed comb before packing it away, and even then, I managed to find 2 in the bed of my pick up and one in a stroller when I got home! That being said, I will not be returning to the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichardV1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Pinery has the best beaches in Ontario. The water is shallow and safe for small kids. Beaches and dunes are beautiful. There's activities for kids, fishing, canoe and bike rental, hiking and biking trails, welcome center with displays, etc.. Most of the facilities were updated within 2-3 years within the campgrounds. Best of all, there's almost no bugs. Grand Bend, which is the closest town, has variety of food and entertainment choices for all. The sunset is also beautiful and can be enjoyed within the park or at the Grand Bend beach. I would recommend this place to anyone with small kids. If you want peace and quiet this might not be a place for you.

P.S. The home made Ice Cream at Best's are the best ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafcio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the Riverside campground and the noise at night on both Friday and Saturday was unbelievable! There were partiers making noise late into the night (2-3 am) and park rangers were no where to be found. Very upsetting to a family of 6 trying to enjoy a pleasant weekend of campfires and sleeping in the tent. One man actually got angry enough on Saturday night that he shouted at the top of his lungs for everyone to "Be quiet! BE QUIET!" at around midnight. Thank you shouting man! I was able to fall asleep after that.

The beach was amazing and saved the visit at least a little bit.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank AnneRintala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
11.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
60 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
76 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Pinewood
The Pinewood
#9 of 16 in Lambton Shores
5 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bayfield River Cottage Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinery Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinery Provincial Park

Property: Pinery Provincial Park
Address: RR 2, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Grand Bend
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pinery Provincial Park Hotel Grand Bend
Pinery Provincial Park Grand Bend, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing