We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The good -
There are 2 fabulous golf courses on site, with excellent practice facilities. There is a nice pool with an excellent view of the Brudenelle River.
PEI is such a wonderful relaxing place.
We golfed with a local who told us to go to the processing plant in Georgetown ( about 10 minutes away) to buy cooked and de-shelled lobster. We did and OMG for $25 dollars we got like 4 lobster tails with the claw meat were able to heat up some butter in the microwave in the room and have a lobster FEAST ! WE had a nice brunch on the weekend at the resort
( available weekends only) and we had breakfast room service once, restaurant take out once and dinner once. Nothing outstanding but it was OK.
There are however 2 great restaurants in Georgetown. One by the water on a deck and one of more fine dining.
Montague is the closest largest town with more restaurants, food stores and laundry mat. ( the laundry mat is just as you come into the town in a little strip mall on the left)

The bad -
We booked a Junior Suite and for whatever reason we thought this would be an actual suite. Instead what we got was a room with a bed, and a partial partition that sort of separated where the couch and desk were. We asked for a golf course view, which we were given, but what we really got was a driving range view, as we were on the main floor. And don't forget about the noise from the maintenance ground crew who have to mow the area starting at 6:30 am and then fill the golf balls up at the driving range... a bit early for us to be woken up. So wouldn't recommend a main floor golf view.. The other views we think were of the pool area.

The ugly -
Where to start?
1.My husband called 1st to get a nightly rate, and he was given a price. I called about 3 days later, and was given a price $30.00 MORE per night.. I told the reservation agent about this, and he simply said... well that will work too........ So while we got the $30.00 less rate per night... made you wonder what type of place we were dealing with.
2. Then we were told because we were staying more than 7 days that we would receive some free nights. Terrific..we thought.
Until we checked in... there was no record of this, but the lady at the reception went into the back room and when she came out she had us sign for our nightly rate, with 3 nights missing.. so we were OK with this.
3. BUT when we were ready to check out we decided to ask for our pre-bill and lo and behold.. once again, we were being charged for all nights.. and no free nights.. had another conversation with the reception lady, and she went into the back room, and came back with a new bill with 3 nights free... Don't know what goes on in that back room.... but it must be magical.
4. Then there is their housekeeping policy. Because we were staying for more than 7 days, we had some "relaxing days" and put up the do not disturb sign. Twice we had the housekeeping staff phone us and wake us up in the afternoon to say they needed to check with us to see if we needed anything before they could go home... Are you kidding me??? We said we didn't want to be disturbed... If you need to disturb us then DON"T have the signs available.The resort really needs to address this.
5. We went to the spa for massages as part of our stay. Guess this may be our fault.. but.. we do massages many times a year at different places in North America, and NEVER have we EVER had to ask if the therapists were licensed. Well at the resort they aren't, and therefore, we spent the $270.00 but aren't able to get a receipt for income tax or health care purposes... Not a good surprise to have.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    81
    31
    21
    12
See reviews for
66
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights in a junior suite which we reserved through trip advisor at hotels.com. This is a very reasonable rate for this room which was clean, roomy, with a pull-out couch, and balcony overlooking the golf-course and river. It was very quiet and serene!

We were a little disappointed initially as there was only one staff person at the reception desk when we arrive and a few already disgruntled patrons in line waiting for their rooms to be made up ( this was after 4 pm and check-in time was 3:00). The person on reception was a new staffer to boot! Angela did an amazing job keeping her cool and trying to accommodate the patrons while two other staffers looked on and were wondering what happened to the other person on reception, rather than stepping in to help her on another terminal. One of the onlookers I think must have been a supervisor from another department (?housekeeping?) and was making things worse by saying out loud so all could hear ( and embarrassing the older patron) "well he is in the west wing and wants to be in the east wing!" several times. She also made some comments about being short staffed and wanting to get home too and proceed to make subtle negative comments about the management. This resort staff, from housekeeping to the front desk could use major training in hospitality. Being a maritimer myself, I was embarrassed as to how this reflected on our part of the country.

After getting our keys we trekked over to our room and my husband commented on how there were no accessible psh buttons to go through any of the doors and there was a fairly long walk across a wooden-decked courtyard (which is in need of repair before someone goes through it) . I could now appreciate why the elderly gentleman earlier had requested the room in the east wing...it was a long way to haul your luggage through 5 sets of doors with no automatic door openers! Thankfully we met someone returning a frilly and were able to load our things on that- once again, there was no sign of hotel staff for any assistance- thankfully we are physically able, but if I was a little older, some assistance getting luggage to our rooms might have been appreciated.
Once we go to our room we were pleasantly surprised by the size, amenities, and cleanliness. The rest of our experience at this location far out-weighed our initial skepticism. We biked around the resort and could connect up with the confederation trail which was nearby. The location / property was lovely, pools were both great, and clean!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanky19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

PEI is naturally gorgeous. And the Resort grounds are very well maintained. However the room we had was a junior suite, and even at a "wedding rate" we were left feeling like we spent too much money on an average room. It was nest that our room looked on to the golf course, but the novelty soon wore off as the golfers on the course could see right into our room from the course. Unless we wanted the curtains closed, blackout blinds (there were no shears) we had to change in the bathroom.
If you are a golfer there is great value staying here for sure as the golfing was $5 for nine rounds if you stayed at the resort.
The personnel at the resort were very slow to respond to any concerns that we had. And several things were just out of order. We went to go and use the fitness facility and everything was out of order. And had looked that way for sometime.
The cleaning staff although very friendly were slow to have the room cleaned and it was stressful for me as we had a wedding to prepare for at 3pm and by the time we had to return to the room to get ready it was still not done. It was done eventually after we left for the wedding. But we had left the room avail to the cleaning staff all morning and was dissapointed it was not done sooner.

When it came time to check out to our surprise they did not process the transaction right away, instead they left a hold on our cc for more than our room, and just waited until the accountant came in on Monday to process it. Which is not timely or convienient to any person. Just left us feeling quite dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

First of all, this wasn't exactly a "family" trip, more a case of my family, plus about 16 other families on a sporting vacation, but we were treated like a family during our stay.
The resort is really well laid out, with the rooms close enough to the golf courses to be convenient, yet far enough away to allow for some privacy. Two pools, one indoor, one outdoor with the outside one being large enough for our group (the indoor one became very noisy). What I really liked about the resort were the areas for socializing in the evening. A really nice fire-pit down by the river, or the outdoor upper level deck, or even just hanging outside the ground floor doors in small groups.

The staff here are excellent, friendly and efficient, yet still allow you the freedom to make the place your own. The rooms are a good size, but at the end of the day there's so much to do here that you spend very little time in your room!

Loved the walking trail along the river banks, the kids rented bikes and kayaks during the day. The cabins are listed as part of the resort but they are quite a walk away from the pools, in fact it's closer to the OTHER outdoor pool in the provincial park. The cabins are like a little community by themselves. We'll be back, and maybe next time will book the cabins instead.

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying here I'd highly recommend the end rooms as they are larger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kodiaknfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel was fabulous. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a room with 2 beds and a walkout patio and the rate we paid was 90$/night. We ended up at this resort at the last minute as were staying in an absolutely disgusting and terrible hotel in Summerside and needed somewhere else to stay. The only regret I have is that we wished we could have stayed longer as the hotel was beautiful, the pool was great, the grounds were beautiful (golf course), and there were other things there that we did not have time to take advantage of (horseback riding, golf, kids programs). The restaurant (Club 19) was great too - fabulous service and the food was good. Also, where we were the kids eat FREE - all of the kids' meals were free (breakfast, lunch, dinner). This hotel accomodates all travellers - couples, families, golfers! We will definitely stay here again! If you do go offsite - check out Basin Head Park the beach is amazing!! Easily one of the most beautiful beaches we saw on the entire island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very poor poor food service and very poor food. Stayed here a week and this aspect did not chamge at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Our favourite part of our time spent at the Rodd was at the restaurant Club 19. Each time we went we had wonderful service. They catered to our 5 year old. I actually felt like I was dining in a friend's home. The Chowder was so fresh and loaded with fish. The breakfasts were hearty. Our room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the whirlpool was out of service while we were there but my husband and daughter enjoyed the indoor pool. I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger060900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.4 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Property: Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing