We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Bay View Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay View Lodges
New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent the last three days of our Dominica grand tour at Bayview. An excellent decision, as it turned out. Our upstairs apartment was a bright, modern, and very functional space, yet with enough quirky and personal touches to give it a home-like feel. There is furniture made from local driftwood, and the kitchen is so well-equipped that preparing breakfast almost as much of a pleasure as having our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the waves rolling into Hodges bay. Trevor is the kind of host who achieves the difficult balance between being personable and helpful on the one hand and completely respectful of guests' privacy on the other. A winning combination.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

You cannot go wrong with the upstairs apartment my wife and I stayed in. Immaculate views of Hodges Bay, simple layout, and very clean. The apartments are located conveniently on the main road, but outside of town so as not to be busy or loud and are great for getting literally anywhere on Dominica. Everything you need is in the apartment, and if not just ask the owner who along with his kids are some of the friendliest and most accommodating people you could ask for. I should also add that the room rates are reasonable and your wallet will thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnNae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Bay view cottages has a mesmerizing view.. which just can not get better.. it is an ideal location for a complete cutoff from the world.. around 2 hrs from Rosoeu...host Trevor and his family are great hosts.. the best place in Calabishie for sure!

Room Tip: Choose the higher level apartment......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Well where better to celebrate your honeymoon than the beautiful island of dominica, the sights of calibishie were totally breathtaking, the lagoons waterfalls and a visit to the famous emerald pool were just the begining of the beauties myself and my new wife were about to experience, bayview lodges are perfectly located, overlookin the beautifull blue seas and surrounded by the the greenest trees, the lodges are very spacious clean & have all you will need during a visit to this wonderful place, only one thing could help make our visit even more perfect and that was to get the opportunity to visit our close friend and school mate trevor, ( the owner off bayview lodges) had the best time ever mate & cant wait to come back,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had a Bussmen's holiday there and had a great time. The views are to die for, the staff (Trevor and his 2 lovely kids Ethan and Rihanne) are very friendly and will fall over backwards for you if asked. Though they keep away until needed.

As someone said ... 'million dollar views' over a deserted island

The rooms are some of the nicest and cleanest on the island. The furniture is all hip and very comfy.

From only $85 US ... get there.

Room Tip: Top floor has best views. Contact trevor.nerwal@gmail.com for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manicou_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is a very nice apartment. Trevor is very warm and welcoming and the apartment was very clean. My only complaint was with the weather. It rained the whole day we were there and we didn't have a chance to see the beaches or other sights of Calabishie.

The apartment is a nice size with a huge shower. The water pressure was a bit weak but I didn't mind too much. The TV is small and we didn't get any channels but there were some DVD's that they had left for us to watch, so that was nice.

We were on the top floor with a big balcony and excellent view but when it rains it gets very loud. As I said, it rained all day so this was disappointing but otherwise you aren't really traveling to Dominica to sit in your hotel room.

Calabishie is a bit far from the action but it is definitely worth checking out. Driving in Dominica is not very nice and you will probably need a car if you are staying here. It is definitely worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We booked the first floor room which is quite nice and has a very good view --- but we lucked out and the people who had booked the upstairs room couldn't make it, so we got to stay there instead. The view from the balcony is amazing . . . absolutely gorgeous.
Either room is clean and well-decorated, a lovely place to stay, but book the upstairs room if you can.
And there is a beautiful beach just a ten minute walk from the lodge.
Trevor is also very helpful if you are looking for a place to eat or sunbathe or hike, and he was kind enough to give us a ride to the airport so we wouldn't have to hire a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
6.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantique View Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cloud9 Dominica
Cloud9 Dominica
#2 of 8 in Calibishie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodges

Property: Bay View Lodges
Address: Dibuque, Calibishie Dominica, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish new private lodges with stunning ocean views. Minutes walk from beaches and rivers. Self contained with verandas facing the ocean. Close proximity to waterfalls, hikes, dive sites and historical attractions. 20 minute drive from airport. 3 minute drive from local grocery stores, bars, restaurants and health clinic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay View Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Lodges Dominica/Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing